Day 14: Staff Orientation Starts


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 14th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

8am we had to be at the school. The administrator explained a lot of things in Spanish and then did a smaller, translated version of the same in English. I was amazed by how much I actually understood. I think there are just similar words in English I guess... I don't know. Anyways, he later had a seperate meeting with us "gringos" and explained a lot more to us, all in English this time. We also had a lot of questions for him, that I don't think he was ready to answer all of them. He's new to this school as well, so some things he'll be learning along with us. He seems really organized though. He's fun and he's helpful but he also seems like he'll make sure stuff gets done.

We then had some time to check out our classrooms. Mine is really nice. I like it. I'll make sure to take pictures tomorrow of my classroom before, and after, I decorate it. Tomorrow we have to be at the school from 8 to 2, but we can be doing anything we wish. I figure it'll be huge decorating time as well as figuring out curriculum with Chris.

They then fed us lunch (beef, rice, salad, and tortillas) and then we got our books (teacher resources for each subject) and head home whenever you were done. Jenna and I were last to get our books but we waited around for each other and then walked home. On our walk home heard some new, and interesting hoots and hollars. Our all time favourite is still "White Girls... We Love You!!!" Today's new ones were a half kiss/half hissing. Oh and we've been getting grunts too... those are lovely as well.

Chris arrived. He seems really nice. He definately has a humour so that's great. I can't wait to get talking to him about curriculum, teaching, and the school. It'll be nice to add another guy to our mix. Poor Jeff. Actually, we met Scott and Brian today at the school. They are two other international teachers who will be working with us. There's an older woman too (not to be confused with Karen, who is also older, but lives with her hubby who works at the army base) but I don't remember her name. ANYWAYS, Scott is over 45, and was requesting to live on his own. They provided a house for him RIGHT near the school. We also found out today that Brian and this other older woman are also living in a different house with only the two of them. It will be weird not having them with us in the other houses. Lucky them get to live near the school though. I guess I wouldn't blame them for not wanting to live with all the youngins. That means though, that the other house will only have Donray and a girl who's coming in from France to teach French, living in the blue house. Chris doesn't even think Donray will stay in the blue house. Hmmm... I'm wondering if we'll all switch around then to even it out. Guess we'll wait and see.

We just hung out tonight going between the houses and kind of doing our own thing. Jill, Kari, Chris, and I played Euchre tonight. It was fun. I do love that game.

Nothing really too exciting today. Tomorrow will be a nice day of decorating and planning. I'm looking forward to it. I really wanna have a nice chat with Chris too. He and I will be working fairly closely this year with grade 3. I can't wait to get those students... August 28th!

Oh and to all my TLK friends, I still have to do lesson plans and hand them into admin... lol. Well, there are long term annual plans that are SO easy... pretty much just stating the units. Then we have daily plans in our daily planner, which is also very basic - nothing like those stupid individual plans we had to do for each lesson. Anyways, the principal seems to be organized, which will be nice I feel.

That's it for tonight I guess.... pictures tomorrow 😊

Advertisement



15th August 2006

ew...lesson plans! Can't wait to see the pics of your classroom!
15th August 2006

Wishing you well with orientation, and beyond
"I wish for you to be curious sooner, worried later, and compassionate always. May your heartbeat carry you home." — Author unknown Love you, forever and always. Be the totally engaging and caring teacher I know you can be. XOXOXO DAD

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb