Day 12/13


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 13th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lastnight was a lot of fun. We never did meet any new staff members. Apparently Scott came in to his own house and then Brian is coming at some point today.

Anyways, for dinner we all just sort of did our own thing (leftover spaghetti for many of us... mmm). We then had a few more rum and cokes and were off to the bar. We decided to try a place called Celio's. When we got there, it cost us 50 lempira for cover and that didn't include any drinks like Villa Real did. When we got in there, it was a huge place but not too busy. I did eventually get busier though. Looking around there were a lot of local couples, and then a lot of the US military men. Jenna, Leah, Nadia, and I danced for a bit but realise all we were doing was entertaining the soldiers behind us, and that was kind of boring. At one point I danced with the announcer/DJ guy who came onto the dance floor with his microphone, but that was about it. They played A LOT of reggaeton, and probably about 2 salsa songs in the time we were there. Jenna and I danced salsa with each other but that was about it. We decided we didn't really like the crowd and wanted to go back to Villa Real, where we had been lastnight. Jill said she had a headache, and Kari was tired so the two of them head home. Jenna and I left in one taxi, and Leah and Nadia said they'd meet us there.

When we got there, they were asking for ID. I couldn't believe it. The guy wouldn't let me in without ID. Jenna happened to have hers but we had to go back to the house to get mine. Apparently Nadia got in fine without hers. She just argued her way in. The police did show up and one point and carded a lot of people but we never did get carded.

Villa Real was fun. They too played A LOT of reggaeton. I was dancing with this short, little, cute guy, and asked why they only play so much reggaeton. He said it's because people find it more sexual. Well, it's bumping and grinding yes, but it's boring after awhile. We were very disappointed there was no salsa. OH! So this guy I was dancing with said it was his birthday on Wednesday. I said mine was Thursday then asked how old he was. When he said 18 I nearly fell over. HE actually DID 'JUST' graduate from EBH. Oh scary. We were talking about how careful we're going to have to be when out at the bars because we may even run into students that are CURRENTLY at the school.

Well, as soon as I found out he was 18, I quickly left the dance floor and he followed. We went out into the courtyard area and found the other girls. Leah was with her new found friend "Hiro" that she met lastnight. The 18 year old ended up leaving and then Nadia and I went to dance. After WAY too much reggaeton, we went to sit down at a table in the courtyard, and Jenna brought over two guys that she had met. They're brothers. One lives here and speaks barely any English, and one lives in the States with his parents. Apparently the older brother just didn't like it in the US when his family moved so he came back to live with his grandparents. He's now 27 and living on his own. His brother is 25 and visits him in Honduras about 6 times a year. Anyways, they were really nice and we chatted with them for awhile. They brought us all bottles of water. Gentlemen really. They then told us that after the bar everyone hangs out at this gas station in town, gets food and whatever. We were all really hungry and said that'd be fun. We looked around for Leah but couldn't find her. We figured she'd gotten a ride home from the guy she was with but were worried. Turns out she had looked for us to say she was leaving but thought we had left when she couldn't find us. Jenna had a talk with her this morning saying we were worried and that we'd never leave her, so for her to please let us know in the future.

Anyways, we decided to go get food with these brothers. They actually put us in a taxi, paid the driver and said they'd meet us there. Then the one guy said to the driver (In Spanish, but Jenna understood) "Make sure they get there." So funny.

We ended up getting french fries and hanging out, chatting with these guys and then they gave us a ride home so we could show them where we lived, so that they could pick us up for the soccer game today. They were nice guys who we knew were genuine. The ride home was fun. Nadia, myself, and one of the brothers sat in the back of the pick up truck. Totally a Honduran experience. We told him to drive safely as we were slightly scared, knowing how traffic is here. He was very cautious and got us home safetly. We then gave them our phone number and said goodbye. Jenna and I stayed up till about 4am again talking, then we head to bed.

This morning I slept in until noon and then got up and did some e-mail stuff then had a shower and got ready for the game. We were supposed to be picked up by our new friends around 2pm. They said they'd call us before they came. We waited and waited and it was getting late. The funny thing was, however, that Jenna's boyfriend had been trying to call as well and said it kept ringing and ringing. This was when we realised we may have been given the wrong number. Jill stood outside while Jenna called the number that we thought was ours, and it turns out it was the blue house's phone. CRAP! No wonder our Honduras brothers hadn't come yet. We took a cab and went to the game.

When we got there it was SOOOOO crowded. We had to follow these two little boys selling water in order to get through the crowd. We ended up standing the whole time behind the fence on ground level. It wasn't bad actually. We got some nice shots of the game. I also got some great shots of my Hottie Honduran Boyfriend... #15 on Team Honduras. We've started calling him my H.I.B. (Honduran Imaginary Boyfriend). We don't know his name but he's a hottie. I took most of the shots of him while he was warming up on the sidelines. I also got a lot of shots of number 10, whose jersey I apparently have (although we don't think the names on our shirts match the real names of the players). Kari wants #10 as her H.I.B. I told her I'd share. lol.

Honduras ended up tying with Costa Rica, which was so sad for Honduras because that meant that in the tournament they lost. I don't know how it all works but I guess this means they don't get to go to Canada next year. It was very sad when it was over. The team all sat in the field, obviously very disappointed. #10 went and sat in front of the goal post and leaned against it. Awww... then #15 started walking over towards us. We were all freaking out, thinking that he was coming to talk to me, after having seen me take many pictures of him earlier. He actually was coming to speak to his Dad, who was apparently right down from us. I ended up yelling something out about "quince" (15) and he looked over and smiled for a picture. total hottie.

We left the game, as it started to rain, and couldn't find an available taxi so walked until just past the Texaco station. We were about to get a taxi when we saw the brothers from lastnight. We were so glad, as it had been so packed at the game and we were disappointed that we didn't see them. Jenna and I ran up to the front and explained the phone number mishap. They told us to hop in the truck, so yet again we were riding like the Hondurans ride. We were SO glad we ran into them, as we felt SO bad about the phone number mix-up and didn't want them to think we stood them up. They said they had tried calling but couldn't get through. We felt bad. We were then going to all head to a bar for drinks after the game but we couldn't find any good bars (although most ARE open on a Sunday afternoon). We then stopped at a gas station (the same one we had been to the night before) and they bought us a bunch of beer and then we invited them back to our house. Leah's friend Hiro ended up stopping by too so it was a lot of fun. We found out the brothers' names were Denny and Rommel. Denny is the one who lives in the States and was only down to visit his older brother.

We had a good time at the house. We played latin music, Rommel let me burn some of his CDs onto my laptop, and he and I even danced a bit of Merengue in our living room. That was all the dancing though I'm afraid. It was fun. Rommel barely knows ANY english though so communicating was hard. He and I tried to mime things and then sometimes got someone to translate. Denny was really nice too and was easy to talk to since he speaks english fluently.

Many beers later, it was time for the men to leave. Leah sort of told them that in not so many words. lol... we DO have to be at the school tomorrow morning for 8am... eeek. I'm actually excited though about starting orientation. We'll be able to meet the other teachers too. The returning staff also arrive tomorrow, as far as I know. That should be exciting.

Anyways, I should head to bed. I wanted to write this before I head off. Entries may become fewer and fewer now as we start to get busy. I'll let you all in on the good stuff though 😉

Buenos Noches.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



14th August 2006

so jealous
I wish I could go see all these soccer games with you. They sound and look like so much fun. I hope orientation went well and that school is really good. I miss you lots.
15th August 2006

Helmets
I think those helmets have something to do with the 20 foot fence surrounding the pitch. Gringas rushing the field and all that...

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb