Day 11/12


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was fun. We slept in a little bit and then kind of just hung around the house all day. Later in the afternoon, I went with Nadia, Kari, and Jeff to show them where the grocery store is. We found the local street market, another grocery store and then went to the original market where I was taking them. We bought some food to make for all of us for dinner, as well as a 26er of rum (that cost us about $8US) and some coke for making drinks before we went out.

When we got back to our houses, my 4th roommate had arrived. Her name is Leah. She’s 23 and from… Missouri? I can’t remember. She’s the one that was supposed to come in last Monday (and did) but went to Tegucigalpa to spend time with family. Well, it’s kind of family. Her family adopted a boy from Honduras a long time ago. He’s now living back here with a Foster family. She hadn’t seen him in 12 years or so, but had a nice visit with him and his foster family, which is why she didn’t come here right away. She’s kind of a spunky, sarcastic, easy-going personality. I think our house will all get along just fine.

We all hung out for awhile talking and chilling. Nadia, Kari, and Jeff all smoke so the new hangout has been their backyard, all sitting around on plastic chairs, or my favourite; the washing machine.

We made a really great spaghetti dinner for everyone too. There’s actually only 3 of us who eat meat, so I just cooked up some turkey sausage for us to add to our only plates. The sauce was good too, with garlic, eggplant, peppers, mushrooms, and onion. All 7 of us sat around the round table in the green house and had dinner. It was nice. I think it’s funny that we refer to our houses based on the colour but it’s so useful. It’s funny too. There’s no street names or addresses here (which is why mail has to be sent to the school). If I were to direct you to our house from the school I’d say to turn left at Hotel Emperador, then continue up the hill, past the sickly dog on the left (which we have yet to name but are talking about it) then at the solid red coca-cola sign (not to be confused with the coca-cola sign the is also white) turn left down the dirt road. Take your first right and then our house is the “pink house” on the left. Oh man, I love it. hehe

After dinner, we all showered and got ready to go out, had some rum and cokes, and then head to the bar. It’s funny because we’re already borrowing each others stuff. Kari borrowed a shirt from me and I borrowed shoes from Nadia. So great to have a bunch of closets to go “shopping” through I suppose.

We went back to Villa Real, where we had gone for drinks for my birthday. On Fridays and Saturdays though, they had a disco. It cost us 50 lempira to get in, which included 2 drinks so that was fine. At first it wasn’t busy at all, but as the night progressed it got more busy.

We had a great time dancing. At first it was just Nadia and I on the dance floor. Then we were joined by Jenna and Leah. We even had Jeff up at one point. Kari was up with us a few times too. Jenna and I did a lot of dancing together, because at first we didn’t see any Honduran men to ask to dance with us. I learned how to say “Jo tengo un novio” (spelling?) which means “I have a boyfriend.” Just in case there were any creepy men. Jenna told one guy “Jo tengo un novia” which is “girlfriend” then put her arm around me. It was quite funny. We actually had this tiny young woman named Nadia, ask if she could dance with us. It was funny because she then told Jenna later (in Spanish) that she had a boyfriend but he didn’t know her secret of liking other women. She then asked for our phone number. HAHA! We thought she was a sweetheart so Jenna gave it to her.

I also had to give our number to a guy Jill was dancing with. That’s a funny story too actually. Jill thought this guy was hot and told Jenna. Well, Jenna asked him in Spanish if he would dance with her friend. He said yes, so we pulled Jill onto the dance floor. Jill doesn’t like to dance so she was kind of flustered at first and maybe a little awkward. The guy was SUCH a good dancer though. Jenna and I started feeling slightly jealous that we weren’t dancing with him. He was really nice too. He was trying to help Jill do the merengue, and was talking with her in English. He said to her “you don’t like to dance do you?” and she said “no, but my friends over there are really good dancers.” Then he said “well right now we’re dancing. I can’t see your friends.” Awwww. Cute right? Then two minutes later tells us he’s married. WHAT! So weird. Jenna asked him later in Spanish too and he said he did have a wife. Apparently it’s common not to wear rings down here. He kept saying to Jenna “we can’t just be friends?” He asked Jill to be his “personal assistant” though, which we’re assuming means to help him with his English. Hence us giving him our phone number. Apparently he’s 26.

I actually ended up dancing with his older brother, who is apparently 28. The funniest part though was when I asked him where he learned to speak English. He said school so I asked if he meant school in Honduras. He said yes and when I asked him what school he went to, he said Escuela Bilingue Honduras. HAHA! I told him I was going to be working there teaching grade 3. Apparently his sister was in Chris’ grade 3 class last year. Oh man. Then he tells me he just graduated from there. HOLD THE PHONE! “Just” graduated??? We talked about it this morning and decided maybe “just” in Honduras time is like 10 years since 1 hour is usually about 3. lol… and he definitely didn’t look 18, that’s for sure.

Anyways, this guy was a great dancer. We started dancing to reggaeton (like Spanish hip hop) but then I told him hat salsa was my favourite, as I had taken some lessons for awhile. Salsa then came on shortly after so he and I did some salsa. He told me I was a really good dancer, which made me happy to hear from a local. YAY! He did lots of good turns and tricks and stuff. He was no John Bender, but he’ll do for now  After a little while, he said he had to work the next morning so had to get going, but said to come back tomorrow night, as it’s better on Saturdays. I said maybe and then we said ‘gracias’ and that was it. I forgot how much I love salsa. Man. I’m gonna love going out dancing this year.

Jenna’s dance story was great. This older man (maybe mid thirties) asked her to dance and she said ok. Usually the older men are the better dancers to be honest. He was a great dancer too. They danced some salsa and then some merengue. He then told her he was a soccer player for the Costa Rica team and gave her an official soccer pin. It’s such a nice pin too. We kept joking all night that she “got pinned.” I actually got to dance merengue with him at one point too. Great dancer. The bar then stopped the music (as apparently bars close down at 2am here too) so we all went out to grab a taxi home.

At home we ate leftover birthday cake and talked about the fun evening we all had. Everyone went to bed but Jenna and I stayed up for a little while having a really nice chat about teaching and families. We went to bed around 4am so this morning we all slept in until about noon.

Today we’ve just been hanging around. It’s 2:15 and I’m still in my PJs. Kind of nice actually, to not feel like I need to rush out anywhere. I did do laundry this morning though, which was successful. It’s all just out on the line drying now.

This afternoon Brian and Scott arrive. Apparently Scott is older than 45 (which is the limit according to the web) and made exceptions for him, as well as providing him with his own house close to the school. Seems kind of unfair but whatever. It may be weird having him live with us anyways. Brian is a little old too I think, judging from his picture. Anyways, he’ll be living in the blue house we’re assuming. After they get here, we’ll probably do another dinner together (or go out) and then are planning for another night of dancing. We’re not sure if we want to go back to Villa Real, or try out this other bar that a bunch of American Military guys told us about lastnight. Oh ya! We met a bunch of guys from the US military base in Comayagua while at the bar. They were only around for about 15 min and then left.

So we’re not sure what we’ll do tonight but it’s bound to be an adventure.

Advertisement



13th August 2006

Awww! It sounds like you're having so much fun....and with attractive Spanish men too!!! WOOT WOOT! lol. I hope you are feeling 100% now. I miss you tons, and have lots to tell you. I am going to try and email you in your hotmail acct. Hope it works! Anyways, loved the story, especially the "just graduated" one. hahaha. HILARIOUS. Miss ya babe! bye for now!
13th August 2006

yay!
Sounds like SO much fun! We are quite jeleous. Last night we had a Latin Club spirit supper at camp, so we were sort of having parallel experiences (sort of... hehe) Tiffany even won the salsa contest! yay. MISS YOU!
13th August 2006

I'm so glad that you guys are having a lot of fun together and all getting to know eachother better and sharing clothes! i'm pretty jealous that you get to do all that hot latin dancing with latin hotties. Well love ya and miss ya and look forward to reading your next blog. xoxox

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb