Chiapas and Guatemala were just as beautiful this time as they were before!


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Naked people! Naked people! Naked people!

A protest in the middle of traffic hour...Mexico City.
The last week has been full of so many beautiful and very fun experiences on the "gringo trail" in the indigenous lands of the Maya in San Cristobal, Chiapas (Mexico) to Lago de Atitlan, Guatemala and now ending with Antigua, Guatemala. It was very nice to have already been to these places and therefore know my way around already...easier and less stressful travel! There have been many changes in these towns due to increased amount of tourism...as is to be expected.
I spent the week with my friend and new "travel buddy" Andres...it was his first time to this amazing and magical part of the world...he liked it just as much as I did. We had a very good time exploring and partying together...making new friends among the other travelers...French, Italians, Germans, Aussies, Spanish, etc...We went on horse back riding trips through forests, up mountains with clear views of volcanoes, and the magical lake of Atitlan. We really enjoyed the markets and bought tons of hand-made clothes, house textiles, jewlery, and other beautiful souvenirs that can only be found here. The local indigenous women spend hours everyday for over a month weaving a beautiful, colorful, one of a kind blouse...that the
Who is the guy on the left?Who is the guy on the left?Who is the guy on the left?

He keeps good company...
tourists buy for the equivalent of about 10 bucks. I bought enough so that I needed to mail a package home so that I won´t have to carry the souvenirs around with me for the next 5 months. Mailing the box home cost me twice as much as buying the gifts that filled the box....ironic.
Andres and I also did a whole day "chicken buses" on our way from San Cristobal, Mexico to Lago, Guatemala. After 12 hours of 5 buses and a boat ride, half of which occurred in a rain storm, on skinny, curvy mountainous roads with our luggage getting soaked on the rooftop of the buses...we were tired and ready to relax at the Lake! But as is the life of a backpacker in Central America. Thankfully, we both really enjoy this type of travel and were glad we took the more authentic mode of transport instead of hiring a private shuttle. It was very uncomfortable and a literal pain in the ass ride...but worth the experience. I was disappointed that we did not actually see any live chickens on the bus this time...4 years ago I did. No chickens but plenty of very interesting people and
Silly sisters...Silly sisters...Silly sisters...

...at our rooftop bar overlooking the Zocalo in Mexico City. The hostel had a great local, but COLD showers!
towns!
I will post photos of our week as soon as I can figure out how to do it from the internet cafe I am at. 😊 Easier said than done!
Andres and I said goodbye at 4am this morning after partying it up with some of our new French, Guatemalan, and Aussie friends at the "Monoloco Bar" ("Crazy Monkey")...it was ladies night...less than 50 cents per cocktail for all ladies...I had a good time. 😊 Then Andres got picked up by his airport shuttle so that he could make his flight to the Tikal ruins. I already went 4 years ago and convinced him he had to experience it too. Then he continues with the rest of his Central America trip to El Salvador, through Nicaragua, and finally to Costa Rica.
I on the other hand fly to Caracas, Venezuela tonight, arrive tomorrow morning and will attempt to get to the city´s central bus station and on the next bus to the town of Ciudad Bolivar...10 hours away. When I will see my next shower or bed...not sure. All I know is that I want to stay the hell out of the capital cities...dirty, dangerous, confusing, and not my style. Instead I will go to Ciudad Bolivar for the purpose of joining a 3 day tour to Angel Falls...the tallest waterfall in the world. It stands almost 1000 meters high in the middle of the jungle in Southern Venezuela. The tour takes us on a small plane, canoe, and a hike to get there. Once there, we spend the night near the falls in hammocks. We also get to go swimming in other surrounding falls. Not sure about more of the details...but I have gotten some recommendations from other travelers who have gone and I can´t wait to go! Wish me luck!




Additional photos below
Photos: 90, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Candid goodbye...Candid goodbye...
Candid goodbye...

...see you in January! :(
Huge food marketHuge food market
Huge food market

where you could buy fresh everything!
Shopping in the Crafts and Arts marketShopping in the Crafts and Arts market
Shopping in the Crafts and Arts market

not even the rain stopped us...we were on a mission to find the most beautiful souvenirs...too easy in this place.
Andres being generous....Andres being generous....
Andres being generous....

...and then being taken over by almost 20 other kids who also wanted a piece of fruit! Watch out Andres!


6th August 2008

Wishing I was with you..
GOOD LUCK!
7th August 2008

me too!
I hope you are feeling better...wish you and your sis were here too. We would have TOO much fun together. XOXO
7th August 2008

It is so good to hear about your travels, and I'm sure you know how much Laur and I want to be there with you...eating, singing, dancing and laughing and oh, did I mention eating? :) Have a blast...was in your land last week, was in Orange County and San Diego, nice weather and gorgeous warm water (not as amazing as Baracoa waters!) Miss you, have so much fun!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb