Fun? Work? BOTH


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we took a walk around the garden to learn some plant families! So many things to learn, but flashcards will help! Next we had some lunch, then I finished identifying the last of my insects (our assignment is to catch and identify 10 insects at each site) and got all three right! One was a coleoptera (beetle) which had two glowing spots on its pronotum (soooo cool! the glow was like a lightning bug's but green!) The other was a neat fly that Daniel caught for me and the last was an actual lightning bug (F. Lampyridae)! I'm getting excited over bugs now, even the giant 5 inch roach we caught in the jungle last night (Actually, Morgan and Tony cornered it as I cheered them on from a distance...all three of us where screaming/luaghing). I never used to be able to handle a bug like I do now. I just don't like to catch Lepidoptera (butterflies and moths) because they are so delicate and they end up dying 😞 Anyways...enough about bugs!
After bug identification we had another lecture talking about InBio, which irritated me a lot because it kind of stands for everything I hate about corporate ideaology. Then we had a long break to work on homework and play futbol! (haha mostly play futbol). I love playing this game here! We don't play "soccer"...we play JUNGLE BALL. Meaning as long as it doesn't roll too far into the jungle it is playable. We kick the ball off the two walls, over the ridge and wait for it to roll back....it all counts. We kick the ball or each other, and have epic spills because only a couple people have cleats....all in all a great time!
Post-futbol we went to dinner (guess what...beans and rice...yum!...I'm serious!) and then watched a movie on coffee production and a lecture on field notebooks. Fun day!
I'm enjoying the time outdoors, the hiking gets ridiculous but I love it! I think I'm going to be in REALLY good shape after this semester! Especially with those epic snake boots which weigh like 243980572037 lbs....well not really, but they are heavy! Now I feel like if I haven't gotten ouside for a hike or run around in futbol that I need to go out and burn some energy! Love it!
I'm having so much fun! I love being around fellow bio nerds, we all are able to be excited about everything we want because there is nothing to hide. I can't remember having this much fun in school for a long time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb