From San Isidro to Manuel Antonio National Park & Quepos 2-4 to 2-5-11


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

To pick up where I left off in my last blog, we left San Isidro on Friday morning to head to the beach, Manuel Antonio & Quepos. Eladio had offered more than once to take us there by taxi as he said the bust was not comfortable. The way he put it was that it had many working people that would have a bad odor. He also want to give of a tour or the areas. To save costs we opted to take the bus. So we left Hotel Diamente rather early that morning to catch the bus. It was a decent bus and the ride went fine. But it did end up getting very very full. At each stop more and more people joined us so I did take some photos of that. Barb & I were so thankful we had seats but even with that with the people standing I nearly had a woman sitting on my lap!

You could definitely feel the temperature rise as we got closer to the beach. And with all that body heat on the bus it was almost unbearable when the bus would stop so we didn't have air moving. I have never perspired as much as I did in those two days! The bus ride was about 3 1/2 hours. We got off in Quepos since that's where our hotel was....Le Priss. We had just made the arrangements to stay there the day before, which was tense for a few minutes since the first few places were called were all booked.

So Le Priss was fine but not real "Prissy" as it had suicide showers. But it did have air conditioning, a have-to on the beach, as well as fans. So we had something to eat then took a bus to Manuel Antonio. We found a guide to take us on a relatively short (1.5 hours) walking tour. The park closes at 4pm so that's all we had time for. He brought his telescope and stopped every so often to show us animals & insects of interest. He also took a few photos with our cameras through the telescope. I'll post them all plus others soon. Part of the tour included taking a small boat across a small inlet back to the entrance to the park. It was all lovely and worthwhile. All the while I was sweating like a pig!!!! You do really have to work at keeping hydrated.

By the time we finished the tour and returned to Le Priss we were so hot, sweaty and tired that we each took a shower and put on clean clothes. We decided to treat ourselves and go to a restaurant with an ocean view on the way back towards Manuel Antonio...hoping to catch the sunset. The restaurant nice and we each had excellent meals. I had grilled Mahi Mahi with garlic butter, rice and vegetables. It was to die for! The fish was so fresh and tasty......I also had one of their mixed fruit drinks, no alcohol, that was wonderful. My dinner came to $15. I'm really getting into their fresh tropical fruit drinks. Guanabana is one of my favorites. Unfortunately due to some clouds we didn't see much of a sunset.

After taking a taxi back to our hotel in Quepos we were both worn out and knew we had a busy day to rest up for on Saturday.

First thing on Sat. morning we walked to the local Feria. We had a couple hours before we had to check out and catch the bus back to Atenas. This Feria was also very nice. Not as big as in San Isidro of course but bit larger than the one in Atenas. We spent quite a bit of time at a Tica booth with jewelry. I enjoyed my conversations with the Tica vendor and her 12 year old son who is learning English. He waited on me so I could allow him some practice with English. I ended up buying a few little things. I must say that one of my favorite past times has been attending the Ferias in CR.

By the time we returned to Le Priss it was time to check out and catch a taxi to the bus station to head back "home".

The bus ride home was rather uneventful. We could feel the temperature go down as we got further from the beach. The bus did take us past Jaco, a very popular beach in CR. The ride totaled 3+ hours and we didn't have to go back through San Jose, which we were very happy about!

Once in Atenas a short taxi back to my apartment at Ana's Place and I was "home".

So it was a very good trip! I'm thankful for my new traveling partner, Barb, and we are both looking forward to one or two day trips and hopefully two more longer trips before I leave on March 9th.

Now I'll start posting photos from this lag of our trip.

Ciao,
Barb










Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



7th February 2011
from bus...notice Volkswagon bus raised up high...it's the front of a restaurant

Ha! It looks like Elvis in the bus!
7th February 2011
Tiendita, small store, on route that sells Dos Pinos (Two Pines) dairy products...as big here as Darigold is back in the states

Love the color of this store.
7th February 2011
towards back of bus...starting to get crowded

Wow! Looks like rush hour on the Metro. How was the smell (people + heat=phew!).
7th February 2011
El Priss Hotel in Quepos

Too bad it had suicide showers! Looks nice otherwise.
7th February 2011
our suicide shower...note the exposed wires

Oh, I thought the term 'suicide shower' referred to the lack of hot water but I think it has something to do with exposed wires in a wet environment!
7th February 2011
more beach

Great photo!
7th February 2011
beach...

Did you stick your toes in it? I bet it was warm...
7th February 2011
guided tour of Manuel Antonio...leaves of this plant are used to hold food as it works as a preservative

Interesting....
7th February 2011
Leaf Cutter Ants...they were very busy!

I think we have them around here.
7th February 2011
Antoher lovely shot of the inlet to the ocean

Nice.
7th February 2011
The Feria is right by the beach

Nice photo!
7th February 2011
Attempt of panoramic shot of beach

Great photo!
7th February 2011

thanks
gracias
7th February 2011

looks rather serene with the
still waters, doesn't it?
7th February 2011

the sun was hitting the water
just right!
7th February 2011

yes we do too...
they must be darn hardy insects to survive in Central Oregon as well as Costa Rica
7th February 2011

i thought so too
unfortunately I don't remember the name of the plant
7th February 2011

i didn't but I did touch it with my
fingers...it was WARM!!!!!! Hard to believe it's the same frigid ocean that we have at the Oregon Coast!
7th February 2011

a bit of wave
action.
7th February 2011

yep it's in reference to the
exposed wires...however these showers often are what I would call cold as this one was. It's only tolerable for me if I'm very hot to begin with, which I was.
7th February 2011

it wasn't bad, like you said other than
the shower, but in a entirely different category than the one we stayed at for two nights in San Isidro, Hotel Diamante Real
7th February 2011

surprisingly I didn't notice any bad odor
Ticos seemed to pride themselves on being very clean and smelling good...really!
7th February 2011

me too
!!
7th February 2011

it sure does....must be intentional
...

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb