To Barb's casita in Vista Atenas


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 7th 2011
Published: February 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day I finally made it up to see my friend Barb's place in Vista Atenas. It's a development high in a nearby hill with to-die-for views! I'm hoping the photos I took do it justice.

In addition to going there to see her casita and beautiful setting we had wanted to work on our plans for our day trip this Wednesday and next weeks longer trip.

So after getting the grand tour and taking several photos we got to work on trip planning with some help from her neighbor, Claude from Quebec. There is quite a large population of Canadians in Costa Rica. It was fun to practice a bit of French with Claude in the midst of so much Spanish.

Claude agreed to go with us, he has a car😉 to Grecia & Sarchi on Wednesday. If we have time we'll fit in Zarcero, which is known for it's uniquely sculptured bushes, organic farming and a nearby cheese factory. Otherwise Barb and I will do that another day by taxi.

Plans for our 4-day trip next week are also coming along. We'll take a taxi to a town north of here, then the 2-hour bus ride to La Fortuna to see Arenal Volcano National Park and eventually Monte Verde Biological Reserve. Barb's friend Mary from Ohio will be joining us on this trip. We know how we're getting to La Fortuna (near Arenal), where we're staying those first two nights, how we're getting from Arenal to Monte Verde and where we're staying that third night. What we don't know for sure is what tours we will want to partake in at Arenal and Monte Verde as well as just how we're getting back to Atenas. We have ideas but nothing definite yet.

I forgot to mention in my last blog that we are enjoying a typical fruit drink here in CR called Pipa. It's basically the coconut milk out of a green coconut where they cut off the top of the coconut and put a straw in it and you drink. It's very good and you can usually find it at the Ferias.

All for now....

Ciao,
Barb






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



8th February 2011

The photos are LOVELY! What a view! Is it expensive? Your upcoming trips sound wonderful! Have fun. When I click on the individual photos, they don't display right-it's a tiny vertical 'thing', not the whole thing. Has anyone else mentioned this? This isn't the first time I have come across this with your blog. BUT that being said, don't worry about it because I can see them on the page above where I am putting this comment. I spent that afternoon with mom. I have an appt. for her next Tuesday with her psychiatrist. We took a 2 hour country drive!!! We stopped and got a plain donut for a 'snack' and we gobbled them down. Love you! Oh, it got warm today, up to 45˚!!! Still lots of snow around and colder temps coming.....
8th February 2011

she's paying...
$1,100 per month so to me that's expensive! I do like being in town so I can walk everywhere and don't have to rely on taxis or people with cars to get me to town. A two hour drive with mom..great! You both deserved the donut! No one else has mentioned anything about having problems with the photos I post on my blog....you're the lucky one ;)
9th February 2011

That is expensive!!!
10th February 2011

i agree....
!!!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb