Brief Rain Storm, Belt (Yay!) and Glop


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We had our first rain storm here in Atenas since I moved here from San Pedro/San Jose. It just lasted for 20 minutes or so but it was refreshing. I took a few photos that I'll post soon. The nice thing is that it was still warm outside😉 Of course in their rainy season from May through November they get rain almost everyday. But depending on what part of the country your in it might be mostly just in the mid afternoon on. Their rainiest month tends to be September I think.

I did a load of wash today...mostly towels and timed it just right with bringing them in off the clothesline just before it started raining.


After the rains stopped I took my daily walk into town with the mission of locating a restaurant a neighbor told me about yesterday. Roger, I think I mentioned him before. Anyway I had a most successful walk as I did find the restaurant that he raved about as well as I found a pants belt for myself. No more almost-falling-down pants! Yay! It was $3 or 1,500 colones.

I prepared what we call glop for dinner tonight. This included ground beef, onions, garlic, cabbage and tomatoes. I had some of that over brown rice I had cooked yesterday. I made enough of both so that I should have plenty to eat until we leave for our next big adventure on Monday to Arenal & Monteverde.

I plan to buy some fresh fish one of these days...been hearing it can be pretty good.

Waiting to hear from Barb as to what time we're leaving with Claude to go to Grecia & Sarchi tomorrow morning. It will be fun to do more exploring and have more to take photos of and write in my blog!

Ciao,
Barb






Advertisement



9th February 2011

Did the air smell good after the rain? It does here when it's warm and humid. Glad you found a belt! Have you lost so much weight that you needed one? Have a nice trip to Grecia-I know it's a town that you were interested in. Love you!
10th February 2011

yes it did...
and I have lost a little weight here....just like I did in Guatemala...

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb