hot and sweaty


Advertisement
Published: April 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Phew its hot here! We have been working really hard for the past two days on Faculty Led Projects. For the first we spent 7:30-noon collecting catepillars and the afternoon looking for army ants. In the other we ran around in the morning cutting branches off of canopy trees (reeeeally long poles with scissors) and all afternoon inhaling acetone fumes (which made the lab experience rather interesting...let's just say there was a lot of singing going on). I think I found a group with a really cool IP idea involving bat distributed seeds. I really would prefer to work with fish but unfortunately the whole project depends on the weather and I would also have to hike 10 km to get to my site, cutting down on data collection time. Unfortunately most of my time now is spent on work and less on "fun" (but hey work IS fun!.....*cough*)
La Selva is truly special though. There is so much diversity and beauty and amazing things here (like the golden morph eyelash pit viper we saw yesterday!) Makes me sad to think that we are leaving so soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb