Costa Rica's medical care up close & personal!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was pretty ambitious this morning as I walked to the bank and store before taking a taxi up to Barb's lovely casita. I was feeling slightly better before lunch but then started feeling lousy right afterwards. So she encouraged me to schedule an appointment with a doctor she went to see a few weeks earlier. I was able to get an appointment for 4pm today. So we took a taxi there. As I had suspected I had the common stomach upset that often happens to Gringos.....otherwise known as Montezuma's Revenge! I guess there's a first time for everything!

Before the female doctor came in the male paramedic took my vitals and they were all normal. Then Dr. Candy Midence Noquera entered and asked many questions about my health in general. She seemed familiar with scleroderma & sjogren's which are my two main health issues. Once I described my current symptoms she was very quick to diagnosis what I have since she sees this condition frequently with the many gringos here in Atenas. She prescribed a three-day course of anti-spasmodic for my stomach, an anti-nausea medication plus a electrolyte. I was also scheduled for a follow up appointment on Friday. The cost of the visit as $45 (which I'm told we should be able to get reimbursed for by our insurance in Oregon) and the medications were about $22. It was nice to be able to be seen right away and now to personally know a doctor in the area. For the next three days then I'll be taking the medication and eating a "soft" diet. Which includes no chocolate😞

Barb and I did make a little headway with planning our next two trips. It seems like we'll be combining them this weekend since her friend Maria Elana, who has a car, will take us around the Heredia area on Saturday and then we'll go to the Orosi Valley where we can explore the area on Sunday. Here's a link to a little info about the Orosi Valley...http://www.orosivalleycostarica.com/.

I'll download the few photos I took while at Barb's today....

Ciao,
Barb







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th February 2011

Apparently no one escapes Montezuma's Revenge!!! What kind of anti-spasmodic are you taking? I use that type of drug when my stomach is acting up. It's something like hyoscimine-messed up spelling! Feel better soon! love ya!
24th February 2011

now I don't remember which of...
the three I'm taking is the anti-spasmodic. It's either Dislep, Buscopina or Hidrasec. I think the last one might be an electrolyte of some kind.
25th February 2011
Can never have too many photos of boganvilla!

I agree 100%!
25th February 2011
Love the shape of this tree

You are right, very nice shape.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb