Return to cyberspace!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well it's nice to be back online after 24-hours of no connection! I'm told this wasn't connected with the earthquake.

I guess if there was a good time to not be able to blog it was the past 24-hours as not much has happened. I've still been having some digestive "issues" that started several days ago. But tomorrow I plan to go to Barb's house so we can plan our trip to the Orosi Vally and Heredia. The latter will likely be this Saturday or Sunday with her Tica friend Maria Elena, who drives. The valley trip we're not sure yet.

A couple of observations to share....
there are security guards at some pharmacies/farmacias including the one near me...not all though
eggs are not kept in refrigerators in the stores and of course not at the Ferias....so why don't they have a problem with people getting salmonella poisoning, including me?
why is there not an insect problem in Costa Rica? i've seen very few


One more thing to share that I read the other day...."Costa Rica is the poor man's Hawaii" Although I've never been to Hawaii that seems like it might be fairly accurate. Costa Rica is no longer real cheap compared to most of the U.S. but compared to Hawaii it is plus from what I've heard the weather is similar. I think people can still find some deals down here but they aren't as plentiful as 10 years ago for sure.

Ciao,
Barb




Advertisement



23rd February 2011

Interesting observations. I wondered about the lack of bugs too. Why do we have so many and CR doesn't??? Eggs not in the fridge? Yuck.
23rd February 2011

I don't know....
that's a real quandary! The egg thing I don't get either!

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb