Feria, Haircut, Trip Planning & Pico de Gallo


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 11th 2011
Published: February 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This being Friday I went to the Feria this morning and bought mangoes, bananas, strawberries, tomatoes, onions, carrots, oranges, avocados, cilantro. And that's less than usual since Barb and I are leaving for our trip with her friend on Monday. While I was there I met a group of 5 Gringos wearing matching bright orange t-shirts saying "My Friends are all Crazy". They had just arrived in CR a couple days before and decided to wear the shirts to make it easier to find each other in a crowd! What a good idea. If I remember correctly they were from the midwest.

Since I had all the fresh ingredients, I made Pico de Gallo with Avocado to have with chips for an early supper. It was wonderful. Earlier this afternoon I had half of one of the mangoes....so juicy and sweet!

Back to this morning...I left for the walk to my hair appointment at 10:50 since I wanted to stop at the ATM machine to get more cash. Thank goodness I'm not having any more issues with that process! I stopped at Coopeatenas , grocery store, to buy some chips for the Pico de Gallo I would be making later. Then I walked the additional 10 minutes to Sala de Belleza for my hair appointment. Mariana was just finishing up with a Canadian woman visiting her son and daughter-in-law in Atenas.

I'm very happy with the short haircut that Mariana gave me. I'm posting a photo of my short hair (pending since having trouble posting this one), one of Mariana plus a photo of an interesting pod (?) I found on the ground by the pool late yesterday that I haven't asked about yet. Any of you have an idea what it is? I'm posting two photos of it.....

Mariana is from Colombia but has been here for 30 years. She said about half of her clients are Ticos and the other half are Gringos & Canadians, etc. She keeps busy enough to work 6 days per week. My wash, cut and style was $7.

Barb came over right after my appointment and we spent about an hour trying to make our transportation plans for our trip to Arenal & Monteverde next week. Between Barb getting sleepy and meeting Ken, a new neighbor here at Ana's Place from Alaska plus a chat with Gilberto we didn't get much accomplished. Soon Barb returned to Vista Atenas and I made the Pico de Gallo....see photo.

That's all for now.....

Ciao,
Barb









Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th February 2011

No garlic in your Pico de gallo? It looks so good! I saw you in the picture of Mariana, in the mirror! I like that t-dhirt idea-smart.
12th February 2011

oh dear forgot to mention the garlic...
I added lots. Both fresh & powdered! I ate almost that whole bowl with chips and it sure loosened things up this morning! But it was worth it!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 9; ; mem: 1mb