Breakfast w/ Kat & Layne @ Cafe El Balcon, Finding my Hairdresser for Appt. tomorrow & more research on places to winter


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Alajuela
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I met my friends first friends from Atenas, Kat & Layne, at Cafe El Balcon (The Balcony Cafe) in Atenas. It's a popular place for Gringos, run by a woman named Melanie who seems to know and remember everyone. She has an accent but I'm not sure's a Tica...speaks both English & Spanish very well. I ordered their Tico breakfast with Gallo Pico (beans & rice), Huevos (eggs), Queso Frito (fried cheese), Platanos Fritos (fried plantains> and Jugo Naranja (orange juice). Coffee was included but alas I am not a coffee drinker...almost seems criminal in Costa Rica! The food was delicious and the three of us were busy talking about my recent travels in CR as well as their experiences. It was a big breakfast but I ate it all!!!!

I came home right afterwards and began doing some more research online about various areas I might want to spend winter in the future. It's not that I have ruled out Costa Rica...not at all. But as it is so far from Oregon and expensive to get here I am keeping an open mind. All the while, of course, I am seeing and learning more about CR!

I am back to looking at various warm winter climate areas in the U.S. The possibilities narrow down quick when I factor in the warm temps I need due to my health issues. But in a way it's good to have it narrowed down a bit then the research is not quite so overwhelming!

Later this afternoon I walked to my favorite mercado as my Friend Roger had told me he saw vegetable peelers there. I need one mostly for peeling carrots. I also wanted to try to walk to the place I am scheduled to have my hair trimmed at tomorrow. Success on both accounts...bought a peeler and found "La Sala de Bellaza" (Beauty Shop). It's a fair walk and I may decide to take a taxi for my appointment tomorrow as it is at 11:30am and I'll be walking to and back from the Feria beforehand. That usually wears me out. I guess a number of Gringos use Mariana for their hair. My friend Barb has chosen to go to someone in the upscale Gringo community of Escazu today instead. I'm willing to try Mariana....😉

Sorry no photos today. Hope everyone and everything is fine back in Oregon, Washington and Maryland!!!

Ciao,
Barb

Advertisement



11th February 2011

I am impressed that you ate all that breakfast!! Wow. I was glad to hear that you were able to find someone that could replace your contacts-so you brought along extra lenses I guess?? Were they really bothering you? Hope you like Mariana's!
11th February 2011

my eyes weren't too bad yet...
so it was good to take care of it now.
11th February 2011

and yes i brought
along extra lenses for that reason

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb