First full day in Atenas


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was wonderful to wake up around 5:30 this morning to the sounds of so many different birds. In the background I heard an occasional truck braking and a neighbor dog barking but the birds were chattering up a storm....or was it just babble?

FYI...I posted some new photos last night in case you're interested.

Overnight I had all my windows were open and the ceiling fan on high and both made for comfortable sleeping. There are enough trees here to provide adequate shade that my apartment was comfortable all day and night. The daily afternoon breezes are very nice as well.

Right outside my window by the pool they had a yoga class between 8-9am. I tried to follow along from inside my apartment (I guess that makes me a cheapskate) but that didn't work out very well. After a breakfast of mango and corn tortillas I headed out to take photos of the grounds here and around town. I'll be uploading them soon.

I forgot to mention in yesterday's blog that when I was in the main house here where Darren & Dianne live while they're managing the place (Diane is Ana's daughter) Darren pointed out a lizard climbing up the wall in their house. From a distance it looked similar to the ones we see in central Oregon but maybe 30% larger. He explained that they are barking lizards and sure enough during the night I think I heard them! I had never heard of barking lizards before!

So after my photo expedition I came home and started laundry (interesting washing machine you'll see in photos). There was a hole in the drain pipe so I had to let them know and Gilberto came to help fix it. I haven't quite figured out if he's related to Ana or is just their handy man. As is typical there's no clothes dryer, you just hang everything on a clotheline.

When I moved in I knew that there's a small leak in my bathroom which they had checked out. They're pretty sure it's due to a problem with the upstairs toilet which is ordered and arriving Saturday. It's not causing any problems for me at all...yet.

I had lunch which was an egg sandwhich with corn tortillas and broccoli. I'm needing to buy a few more groceries including my favorite treat...dark chocolate. I'll be leaving soon to do that now that the breezes have kicked in.

My first shower here was so nice....even had hot water!!! Ahhhhh....

So on that pleasant note I'll sign off for now.

Ciao,
Barb




Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th January 2011

Tom wants to know if the 'interesting' washer is the swimming pool?! I bet you are enjoying the fresh fruits! Are they as scrumptious as I imagine they are..?
21st January 2011

tell Tom...
not quite but good idea! The fruits that I've had so far are very good although I thought the mandarinas were not super sweet. So far in CR I've tried mango, papaya and avocado. Tomorrow I'm going to the weekly feria, open produce market so I'll be buying veggies and fruit. The only spinach at the grocery I shop at was very wilted sop I hope to find some very fresh produce!
21st January 2011

hotwater and parrots
Sounds like chicken soup? just kidding! :) Dee really liked the Parrot :) were glad you found a home away from home thats comfortable and offers some luxury ( ie hot water! :)
21st January 2011

ahhh....the luxuries!
I am appreciating the luxuries I have here at Ana's Place. The hot water, little kitchen, beautiful grounds and being close enough to walk to town! I went to the weekly Feria, Farmer's Market, this morning. Watch for my next blog & photos coming soon! Please say hi to Emily and Kyle for me. Oh and of course Alice!
21st January 2011
very interesting washing machine...made all of plastic by Sanyo, I would call it semi-automatic

Mom and I have enjoyed reading your blogs and seeing your pictures! We are intrigued by the washer! Very interesting indeed.....
21st January 2011
tree hanging over street

Not only did I notice the big tree but also the Land Cruiser like the one Tom and I had many years ago, parked along the street.
21st January 2011

of course...
you would notice that! I sure didn't!
21st January 2011

that's great...I'm happy that..
she's enjoying it too. I had never seen a washer like this before. The owners/managers of the place sure seem to like it. But you have to be be close by to make the machine go to it's next step.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb