Moving to Atenas & ATMs


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 19th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today has been a very busy & special day since I have finally moved to Atenas! I left Nitzi's house at 9am in a taxi that she called, one that she uses all the time. Jose was the driver. By 9:30 we I was dropped off, along with my very heavy 2 suitcases and backpack with all of my belongings. I was lucky enough to find a place on the many benches for people waiting for the many buses at Coca Cola. During my half-hour wait I had a man, gringo, offer to help me with my suitcases when I needed to get in line then eventually have them out in the storage area underneath the bus seating area. His name was Lou and he's from Chicago getting away from the cold winters there too. He looked rather frail, tall and skinny but he was able to handle my bags quite well.

The one hour bus ride went well. And when we arrived in Atenas about 11:15, I had quite a time managing my suitcases once off the bus. I just had to walk about 2 blocks to get a taxi but it was a challenge. Had I not had the suitcases I could have easily walked the several blocks to Ana's Place. Atenas is small enough that pretty much all the taxi drivers know where Ana's Place is which was true this time. I'm pretty sure that I already mentioned that the don't have street signs or building/house addresses in Costa Rica. Even in the big city of San Jose. It can be extremely challenging to find anything as they typically go by landmarks. And of course some of those landmarks are no longer there and/or have changed!

So far I'm just loving it here in Atenas. Today it was in the upper 80's or maybe even low 90's. Their hottest time of day is between 9am-3pm. By around 3pm a cooler breeze kicks in and maybe a few clouds. Plus the size of Atenas seems perfect for me. Compared to Powell Butte it's huge but I would say about the size of Prineville.

So once I got into my room here at Ana's Place, I changed into a sleeveless blouse & capri pants and headed out on my walk to the bank and store. I had to withdrawal money (dollars) to make rest of my payment to the owners of Ana's Place. So after getting recommendations of several banks I tried the ATM at the first one and it wouldn't work. So I went in the bank and waited to talk to a teller. I had to take a number and wait until it was called. I was told that there must be a problem with the system linking to U.S. accounts and was told I might check back later.

I then went to one of the other banks and had the same problem. With this one I went in and talked to the person at the information desk. She told me pretty much the same thing they did at the other bank. So I decided to go to the store to buy a few groceries and other necessities and return to my apartment at Ana's Place then try again later. The banks close at 3:45...I thought that was a strange time!

I limited myself with how much I bought at the store since I was walking and it was still quite warm at that time. I had a brief conversation with a Macaw on the grounds there at Ana's Place. The bird started it by saying hola! I thought it was a person it was so clear. So I said Hole...como estas? And it mumbled something I couldn't understand.

While waiting for time to go back to the bank I unpacked my suitcases & backpack. This sure felt good! I do not want to have to move again before I leave CR on March 9th!!! Around 2:30 I ventured out again. By this time the nice breeze had begun so walking was quite pleasant.

So I stopped at the first bank again and had the same problem. This time inside the teller told me that I should try the second bank since they work with Mastercard which is what my ATM card is. So off I go again to the second bank. Tried the ATM again and it didn't work. So inside I go again...this time the guard at the door checked my backpack. The information person suggested I talk to a teller this time so I did. Well finally after at least 30 minutes Daya was able to complete the withdrawal but she had to do it the old fashioned way so that's why it took so long. She explained that since my debit card doesn't have the cirrus logo and I think one other it's not accepted by many banks. I found out later, from Darren...the manager of Ana's Place that there is another bank that isn't so picky so I plan to try that one next time I need cash.

I made another stop at the store as I had discovered a few other things I needed. When I got "home" I paid Darren rest of what I owed for my apartment and cooked myself dinner. Potatoes, sauteed onions & garlic, avocado and broccoli. Very tasty...I had worked up quite an appetite! I even bought myself a dark chocolate with almond Cadbury bar that I thoroughly enjoyed!

Getting my internet connection set up here took a few tries but obviously I finally got it!

Sorry no photos today but I plan to take my camera with me tomorrow as I explore these grounds more and Atenas!

Ciao,
Barb


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



20th January 2011

Sounds like heaven! And maybe Heaven doesn't accept all ATM cards....... ha!
20th January 2011

Very cool!
Funny about the Macaw! I am very jealous! Can't wait to see pics.
20th January 2011

I wish you were here'''
to share it and enjoy it with me!
20th January 2011

I'm thinking that must
be true ;)

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb