La Feria Semanal/ The Weekly Famer's Market


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 21st 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

The weekly farmer's market here is very impressive. I left my apartment at 7:30am, it took me less than 10 minutes to walk there, it was already bustling with Tico vendors of fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, poultry, breads & sweets (none gluten-free), plants & flowers and shoppers. Many shoppers were Ticos, I'd say 2/3. The rest appeared to be caucasion. It's difficult to be sure since many Ticos are light-skinned. I'm told that's from the European influence. But there are also people who have more of an indigenous look.

I took a number of photos, that I'll upload soon, after taking my time looking at everything then buying as much as I could carry in my backpack & in a large bag by hand. For the next week I'll be vegetarian! The whole feria experience was what I would describe as colorful with the different cultures, fruits & veggies, variety of good smells, vendors calling out about their items for sale, people asking questions and dickering about prices. Que bonito estaba!/How beautiful it was!

For those who prefer cooler temps it does help getting out first thing in the morning. I still didn't need a sweater just wore my capri pants & t-shirt. By the time I left la feria at 8:30 it was noticeably warmer.

I'm leaving shortly to meet a couple of Gringas for coffee/tea. One is a real estate lady I contacted when I was looking for a place to rent here and the other is the owner of the loving new American-style home I looked at renting a room in that was too far from town to walk. They have both been so nice and reached out to me if I'm interested in meeting other women here.

More later...

Ciao,
Barb










Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



21st January 2011

Sounds wonderful, all the hustle and bustle of a market! I look forward to the pictures.
21st January 2011

will start posting photos now..
me

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb