Exploring the Island


Advertisement
Published: December 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A nice breeze through our beach dorm woke me up this morning. So I decided to get up at 7:00am and go take some photos of the beach. So awesome walking on a white sandy beach with palm trees rustling in the breeze and only a few locals walking by. Very serene. With a poplulation of close to 2000 people, the island of Caye Caulker moves at a slow pace with sand roads and golf carts instead of cars. Today we are going to explore the island. Right now I am laying in a hammock on the beach under a palm tree writing this 😊 . When Matt and Justin woke up we went to walk around the island, finding a ton of big lizards. The island got ripped in half by a hurricane some time ago so the three of us decided to swim across the gap. On the other side there are no people but we found some palm trees and decided to get coconuts. I threw stuff at a patch for 10 minutes before Justin came to help. With his help we walked to the next tree over and grabbed some that were within hand reach (bah to my wasted 10 minutes). We then swam them back across, Matt leaving his because of the strong current. When we got back to the hostel I borrowed a machette from a local to cut mine open. Little did I know they are very tough for Canadians to open with a croud watching. At least I gave them all a good 20 minute laugh hacking it open (the locals can do it in 10 seconds). I eventually got it open and shared the juice and coconut meet with my fellow travelers even though I know they were laughing with the locals. We then relaxed in hammocks and ate huge lobsters for dinner. Following dinner we taught the other travelers some canadian drinking games and learned some new ones. We all wandered to our beds at random times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb