Smash Dat Coconut Mon


Advertisement
Published: December 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A group from Tulum that we knew came on the morning boat so again we have a large group of travelers. We were going to go snorkling on the reef but because James and Jeff were in Belize City, we decided to get organized instead. The group headed off to a swimming spot on the tip of the island while I wandered the local market looking for trinkets and food. I settled on a 3 dollar bean/rice/chicken combo while I looked at the local art. I then ran onto a fellow Canadian named Amanda and we headed to meet the others at the swimming spot. We got some coconuts to bash open and ate them while relaxing in the sun. As I said, they are very hard to open but this time the Morris ( Irish) got his hands on one And it only took about 2 hours to get 2 open to eat. The locals are so funny and sound like Jamacans to me. They are always joking with the white girls asking whether they need a man and talking about how we burn. "you don't need sunscreen chicka you gonna burn yah" and it ends up being true. We then went to the other side of the island to watch the sunset which was very anticlimatic other than seeing a huge manta in the water. For dinner we split up, Justin and I eating with two Australian friends (Elise and Lauren) at a local chicken place while the crowd headed for the lobster again. We then went back to the hostel for a round of rum where everyone started getting pretty drunk. I cashed in at 11:00 because we had to be up at 6:30 for a boat off the island. Justin and Matt headed to the bar with the others for some dancing. Very social relaxing day with many pictures and fun with coconuts. Not a huge fan of the different Belizian alcohol, but it was 8 us dollars for a 40 of coconut rum which the Irish and Isreali downed tonight. I have to admit I was a little sceptical about how much an Irishman can drink but after he downed over a 26 tonight and was only a little drunk, I am convinced they don't have livers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb