International flying experience #1


Advertisement
Asia
February 10th 2015
Published: February 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a wild time the last 26 hours have been. My 1st long international flight was actually kind of nice. Of course, being 1st class helped matter tremendously. Being served a 5 course meal on an airport was never something I thought would happen! The flight was operated by Asiana Air and I have to say they were pretty amazing! All of the flight attendants were not only dressed alike, but had their hair all in the same small bun, same shoes, even the same earrings! They were so adorable I wanted to pack them up and bring them back to the states. After my belly was plenty full and I had some red wine, sleeping was no problem. I got about 4 hrs from Seattle to Seoul, watched 2 movies and had plenty of time to relax and read. The second meal they served was only 4 courses and which course do your think they skipped? My favorite, dessert! I did try Korean porridge which was surprisingly very delicious. Seoul to Phuket was a breeze only being 7 hrs. I got about 5 hours of sleep and of course plenty of food and wine. Yes, all I have been doing so far is eating and drinking with small spurts of sleep but that's what vacation is about! After arriving in Phuket Scott's flight was delayed so hanging out and people watching was what entertained me for an hour. Uniting with Scott was so great after not seeing him for a week and a half! Getting a taxi was no problem however they did charge use s crazy for our fare since it was 3 am. It normally would be 180 Bhat and we paid 1400. Well we didn't have a choice at that point so we paid and we were off. Riding in a Euorpean style car on the left side of th road for the first time was crazy in itself, but to add to it our cab driver was like the cabbies in Vegas times a million! And the roads are super narrow with no lanes, so everyone just flys around going about 70 in these tiny cars on very small roads with motorbikes all over! After some confusion between Hemingways hotel and our hotel being The Hemingway Silk, we arrived at our hotel around 4am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



12th February 2015

Seems like your having fun!
Sounds like your flights were great. Being served a 5 and 4 course meal on the plane sounds great, along with the glasses of wine! And I literally LOL when I read that you wanted to pack up the flight attendants bring them home. If you still lived in your old apartment in Vail, they could live with your midgets!! But I have a question, was is 1400 Bhat's in US money? Because in my mind that sounds CRAZY and I would have passed out had I had to pay that for a cab!! But hopefully 1400 of that is not anywhere near $1400! Love You!!

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb