Kuala Lumpur - Nightmare taxi ride


Advertisement
Asia
October 12th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at KL international at 11am, and at our hostel at 3pm, after what I must say was a ride that I do not wish to have again, in fact there was a couple of times that I thought if this is what SE Asia is going to bring I am going home right now. As we walked through the doors at arrivals we were greeted by an enterage of drivers, and limo services, after fighting them away, making our way to the bus stop we were followed by a taxi driver, who claimed that he could have us at our hostel in 45 minutes, rather than the 2hr bus journey, so tired and weary we bargained a price with him, however I soon realised that he was not a real driver, as we moved closer to the car, instead of going to where the taxi's were we headed for the car park, where he placed our bags in a beaten up old car with p plates, as we progressed to the city he switched lanes yelled at some-one on his phone, and sent messages, then continued on to tell me about the drugs he was taking, several times watching the time I considered jumping out, and I would have if I had known where we were. But several hours later we did finally arrive at the hostel. Which was in the heart of Bukit Bintung, a bussling hub of shops, eateries, and cinemas, the Hostel Red Palm was great, the people were friendly, the staff were fantastic, we even left a few things here to pick up on our return.
We also realised while in KL the reasons we had come to SE Asia, I think KL was everything I had expected and whole lot more, and to me it had a lot more character and style than Singapore.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb