Singapore


Advertisement
Asia
October 10th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well I went to Singapore with the thought of a semi glamorous beginning to our SE Asian experience, after all Singapore is supposed to be the pearl of the orient, and is poised as the Paris, London or Milan of SE Asia, so there was my first shock. We arrived in Singapore in the morning, having left Australia quite late on a cold night we were still dressed in our winter clothes, which as you can imagine was quite a shock to the system when we walked outside the airport to be greeted by the most intense humidity I have ever experienced. First impressions of Singapore were that the city was very sterile, and too over controlled, I am suprised you are even allowed to walk on the streets in case you get dirt on them. We then arrived at our hostel, a room on the roof, decorated in oranges and yellows, all I can say I am so happy they had an airconditioner. although we were out al day light hours so I shouldn't complain too much. Whilst Singapore is relatively easy to get around, it to me was quite difficult to know exactly what I should be seeing, with no great emphasis on what to see, or tourism information, we just sort of made our way around, did an essential bum boat ride, visit the splendours of Raffles, which was quite exquisite, and then to our highlight, the zoo and night safari, until I had been here I always thought that you could not get a better zoo than Sydney, but I can see why Singapore is seen as the best zoo in the world, it is so natural, and you feel so close to nature, especially on the night safari, which I would say is a must if visiting Singapore. And whilst to me Singapore wasnt the best city I have been to I did enjoy little India and China town with their mix of tradition, and culture. But at the end of the day I have been to Singapore, and I dont need to go back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb