Memory Portraits: Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
September 28th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me & NguyenMe & NguyenMe & Nguyen

I was happy to create a portrait for Nguyen...for those following the blogs, Nguyen is the girl "living with a broken heart"
Warm greetings from Vietnam!

I’m full swing back into the disabled woman’s workshop that we began back in March 2008. But one of the most exciting aspects of my return was being able to deliver the memory portraits created by women of (no name) Art Group. ( About the project ).

This time I’m happy to post actual video, which really shows the impact of the project. The women were touched beyond words and I was honored to represent the selflessness and talent of our group here in Vietnam. I feel it's proof that sharing one's self, one’s time, talent and skills, is truly priceless.

CLICKE HERE FOR VIDEO: MEMORY PORTRAITS, Vietnam

But you can’t see these gorgeous here! Prints of the original portraits will be on display at our next exhibit/fundraiser (yes I’m trying to lure you in). The exhibit will also include more intimate stories and photos about the women and the many challenges they have faced living as disabled adult women in Vietnam.

In addition, the handmade arts/crafts made by the women’s workshop will also be available for purchase (great gift ideas, and beautiful handmade holiday note cards to stock up on - click here for workshop blog). Please come and support our event, and be sure to pass the word along!

SAVE THE DATE:
(no name) Art Group Exhibit/Fundraiser
Saturday, November 29th
3-7pm
Brasil's Club
Old City, Philadelphia


Unfortunately this trip is short, one month has me returning to the states mid-October. Although there are many stories to share, I’m sure this will be the only blog I will have time to post. John & Shannah, I promise I’ll be home for the wedding!

A few notes:
(no name) Art Group members:
I also want to take a moment to apologize that for this year there was a limited number of spaces for the (no name) Art Group project. Since it was only 14 women in the workshop, the project was limited to 14 women artists. Also, a busier schedule this past summer didn’t allow for me to initiate a brand new project, so I opted doing a 2nd round from last year’s Uganda Memory Portraits. I hope that all the members of (no name) will still come to support this year’s project, and hope that everyone continues to participate in the future.

Thank you An for translating, Josh for the photos, and Karen for the video. Thank you Robin
An translatingAn translatingAn translating

Each artist wrote a letter that was included with the portrait.
& Peter for keeping the workshop going.

Thank you Benjamin Pauldine for the use and trust of your camera.

Thank you Benjamin Schumaker for letting me steal your idea...again!







Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

WorkshopWorkshop
Workshop

The workshop runs at the Lifestart School (given to Karen from the government).


3rd January 2009

Wonderful
Just discovered your world-travelling blog... was unprepared for the amount of world-saving involved! Very moving stuff.

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb