Nanny for a month


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 13th 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me & HarrisonMe & HarrisonMe & Harrison

Aunt Sherry's webcam = fun!
I’m always inspired with how smart children are, 20-month old Harrison has been no exception. With no concept of time, he’s a master at living in the moment. Looking at everything as if it is a fascinating miracle, which means a smooshed bug on the floor is as spectacular as a fancy diamond ring, and a garbage truck is way cooler than...anything. This also means a stroll down the street could take hours as we discuss at length every leaf, stone and bug that come across our path. Life is stress-free, happy and simple, and Harrison keeps me smiling (and busy!) all day long. Thank goodness for kids, who keep it all in perspective.

But speaking of time, as lovely as it’s been, being part-time nanny and full-time freelancer has left me quite tired and with little free-time of my own. Trying to incorporate any of my own extra-curricular activities while with Harrison is a bit difficult. But it has taught me a lot, like flirting with cute guys on the street while walking with a child in a stroller is NOT sexy or cool. Moving forward, I’m excited and anxious to return to Vietnam next week but I’m counting on the iced coffees and porkchops to provide me with the energy necessary to finish the women’s workshop (and hopefully another blog!) this next month. Interesting how my food fuel in Philly is organic fruit smoothies and salads. I love variety.

THANK YOU - As always, thank you to Rachael and Jason and their family who have been so wonderful and generous during my stay. I love watermelon.

A note for Facebook friends: For those of you inquiring about my relationship status on Facebook...for goodness sakes it was a mistake! In attempt to be funny, I was trying to put that I was in a relationship with “Harrison” but I couldn't enter his name (being that he is 2 years old and not registered on facebook) so it was taken off. This of course notified over a hundred contacts that I had both entered and left a relationship within 5 minutes (actually not unlike me).




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Watering the GardenWatering the Garden
Watering the Garden

There's A LOT of work to do...
If anything's broken...If anything's broken...
If anything's broken...

Harrison can surely fix it. All you need is a screwdriver.
Don't forget your creative side!Don't forget your creative side!
Don't forget your creative side!

Boy after my own heart
Listening to Mills BrothersListening to Mills Brothers
Listening to Mills Brothers

Such a hit! Music from my Hanlon music collection, thanks Mark!
with Mumwith Mum
with Mum

Asleep in the garden


16th March 2009

sooooooo cute!!!
Hi Squirl, what sweet photos!! and i love the Facebook story, soooo funny!!! my fav pic is of Harrison's lil' foot in your dance shoe! oh yes, and...YEAH FOR ICED COFFEE AND PORK CHOPS! i miss you!! LUV LES
16th March 2009

Toughest Job in the World
Sherry baby, taking care of children is indeed the hardest job in the world! You now know, firsthand why I don't keep up with my friends as much as I'd like to...there are not enough hours or energy! Good luck on the next leg of your journey!
10th April 2009

Cute little man!!!
Wow I'm impressed by the little guy's artistic ability! He is adorable and growing right before our eyes...I remember your previous visit. I'm sure you were the best Nanny. ~xo

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb