From the Scottish Highlands to South Philly


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

---THE UNPUBLISHED NOW PUBLISHED SERIES: BLOG ARCHIVES JUNE 2008 ---

Since my return to Philly, it seems as if I’ve spent mostly all of my time either talking about my past experiences, or planning for the future. I’ve barely spent one moment in the moment, and it’s begun to make me quite sad. What a contrast to travel life, where it’s all about staying in the moment. Traveling alone and living out of a backpack certainly does make life easier in some respects. Not that it doesn’t come with a hefty set of personal responsibilities, but home has brought upon a tricky juggling act of trying to keep balanced… of situating myself, planning, researching cars, laptops, apartments, future plane flights, and organizing paperwork, taxes, phone bills, rent, groceries, medical insurance, car insurance, freelance jobs, socializing and family functions.

Despite the exhaustion from leftover jet lag and readjustment to US life, I accepted Billy’s invitation for a Philly’s game. Billy, my oldest brother, was the boy I spent the most time with as a child (even though he hated it!), Funny how it felt as if I had no individuality back then. Why it was always, BILLY AND SHERRY. BILLY AND SHERRY dinner! BILLY AND SHERRY get up for school! BILLY AND SHERRY share! And the infamous BILLY AND SHERRY STOP FIGHTING! (he started it). But it’s rare, actually never, where it’s just the two of us these days. As we walked into the ball park I felt a sudden weight lifted that was sitting on me. What better way to be in the moment than watching a baseball game. It’s play by play, and Billy kept me posted on who is who, when to yell, when to boo, and when it was good baseball etiquette to get up and use the bathroom. Eating hot dogs and drinking really really expensive cheap beer and living in the moment… why it was perfect. Thanks Bill, (you still walk too fast!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb