Day 12 - Hanoi, Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 4th 2010
Published: January 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Part of Day 11, Sunday, Dec 3 - Luang Prabang.

After we gave alms to the monks in the morning, we had breakfast at our hotel. Then, we climbed Mount Phousi which is the center of Luang Prabang where you can view the town from the top. On top of this hill, there is a temple where I worshiped when I was little. I got some flowers, candles, and incense which I offered to the Budda in the temple. I also released two small birds for good luck.

We are now in Hanoi, Vietnam. We got into Hanoi around 7 pm and did not get to our hotel around 8 pm. I was very tired, so we went for a short walk and went back to our hotel to sleep.

Day 12 - Monday, Dec 4 - Hanoi, Vietnam..

This morning we woke around 7 am. Had breakfast at the hotel (Hanoi Hilton Opera). The food was very good. We went for a walk to visit Hoan Kiem lake and Ngoc Son temple at the lake, and went to the morning market in old town where I had some vietnamese soup and bought some souvernir stuffs. Then, we visited Hao Lo Prison aka Hanoi Hilton where John McCain was kept as a prisoner of war for seven years (I think). Finally, we ended our tour with a visit to the History Museum.

We had very good day here in Hanoi. Later this afternoon, we will catch a flight to Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon).

Here are some today's pictures..

Kens Blog Supplement

With only one day in Hanoi, we did not get to do everything we had hoped to do. Nonetheless, we did get a quick feel for the city. We had heard that the people could be a bit pushy/aggressive and were afraid it might be too much like what we experienced in India. To our pleasant surprise, we encountered virtually none of that. This one rickshaw driver did want to know if I wanted to visit a "1 time lady". I wasn't sure what that meant though so I passed. (Minh - is that code for something?)

Hanoi is a very beautifal city. French architecture everywhere. Many parks and hidden areas of tranquility within an otherwise high-energy city. I really wish we would have scheduled a few days here rather than just an over-night. Perhaps next time...




Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



4th January 2010

vietnam
Hi guy, You didn't stay in vietnam that long too bad. I want to go to Vietnam! have some real Pho! Hope you have great time in Saigon.
6th January 2010

good times!
Your trip is amazing! I really love reading the descriptions and seeing the pics. PS-I played tennis with Greg today Steven. I am going to be ready for you when you get back. LOL

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb