All Along the Mekong...Can Tho Floating Market


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
February 7th 2014
Published: February 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post


Morning on the Mekong
Hey everyone!



It's been a while since I posted anything I know, But I have been in the process of getting documents sent, contacting the Embassy to get things notarized etc etc so it's been pretty busy trying to get this work visa.



Tet holiday (Lunar New Year) is just about finished so things are starting to open up again as usual and I would have liked to get out and go the beach or something during the holiday, but as I mentioned I have been pretty busy and the lack of funds put a damper on things as well.

I did however finally get out and do something I FINALLY made it down to the infamous floating market here in Can Tho City and I have to see it's pretty much what I expected, but also the beauty of it (probably not to a lot of people) to see how these people make a living working on the Mekong on a daily basis, The old wooden ships that look like they could sink at any moment to the coffee lady whose smile was just awesome lol! Also I got a chance to meet

Our boat...All to ourselves!
the lady who served Anthony Bourdain food from her boat as he went to this place also. She calls him "master chef" though lol.



The tranquility of this river is just awesome and as I have always planned to do while I'm out here I would like to experience the whole shabang! Buying a little boat and meandering down the Mekong by myself from the origins in China to the mouth here in the Mekong delta, but that will be probably next year.



Anyways just a short blog with a bunch of pictures so I hope you enjoy and I hope the pictures do the place justice!



Thanks!



-EEC


Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



El Capitan!


The lady who served Anthony Bourdain on his trip to this market ... she refers to him as "master chef"


Fishing!


Some of the Houses along the banks


Coming up on the market


Nice!


Cafe on the river!


She's stocked!


Look at that smile!! Awesome lady!


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb