Arrived in the final destination...for work :-)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Vinh Long
March 4th 2014
Published: March 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!



Sorry no pics on this blog just an update this time. After 2 months in Can Tho where I was working sparsely, I got an opportunity to move about an hour and a half by motorbike north, still in the Mekong Delta, just outside Vinh Long a town called Cai Be. I was told by my recruiter it was a VERY small town, but while smaller than Can Tho it's a medium sized city with just about everything I need except a grocery store which is ok, I want to go down to Can Tho to visit another teacher at least once per month and can do my "Pasta Run' to the supermarket there anyway. The classes are starting to pick up a bit now, but still not getting to that 25 hours per week thresh hold, but it doesn't matter now it's past January and February which means I get full pay no matter if I get my 100 hours per month or not which is welcomed!

The visa process is taking a bit longer than I planned, still waiting on the background check people to get their head out of their asses. All in all it's been good though I can FINALLY start to build up a little nest egg for traveling after my contract is over at the beginning of January, but I have a feeling I will be told I need to renew my tourist visa for another 3 months because I don't see my work visa coming through before the beginning of April, another $95 geez!

The market here is HUGE and awesome right on the river, we had a good sized market right down the street where us teachers lived in Can Tho, but this one is massive! I love it! I have a motorbike I can ride around town getting used to the area which is provided by the agency I work for and takes some getting used to, but I'm getting there :-). One of my schools I teach at on Fridays and Saturdays is a ten minute ride down the street, but the other I work at on Saturdays is really far at least 30-40 minutes away.

All the kids are really fun and great though I like it a lot the kids are really disciplined here in Vietnam, but just so funny in class! This is the easiest teaching job I have ever had in fact I am already thinking of coming back for another 6 months after my contract is over and I travel for a couple months until after TET holiday just to build up some more travel cash before moving on to another country. I could also see myself doing another year contract here, Vietnam is THAT great!

Anyway just wanted to put an update on here for those who follow me, thanks everyone! Happy travels!!!



-Greg

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb