Threshing the rice


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 30th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

We have had a gourd growing in the back garden since I got back and I keep telling Jai that I think its ready. She wanted to see how big it would get so has left it and left it. THis morning she picks it and cuts it open only to announce that it is too old, dry and full of seeds to eat. Oh well, it made about 3ft in length anyway.
Jai goes to the farm for hopefully the last time and I am sent into Phon Thog to try and negotiate some sacks to put the rice into later. This will be fun !
Complete a few jobs on the internet the into the market in search of rice sacks. I get 80 sacks at 8Bht each so even if I have bought the wrong ones they were cheaper than I was told they would be.
As soon as I get back to Khamnadie I bike the sacks out the farm. Everyone is still out in the fields so I leave the sacks at the shelter and will await the verdict on my shopping later.
I stop at the village hospital on my way back to the house and see a different today. She looks at my foot and says it all looks OK what do I want her to do ? I explain that I am at the hospital in town on Thursday and can she just keep it clean for a few more days.
Back to the house where I sit and watch a movie ... in English !
I go to the farm late afternoon to watch them thresh the rice but when I get there all is finished and they the lorry loaded ready to go. 80 sacks I am told - and I did buy good sacks, hurrah ! Previous best year since I have been here was 105 x 30kg sacks and this year 80 x 50kg sacks, the equivalent of about 130 x 30kg sacks, so easily the best year we have had. Over 4 tonnes ! Shame about the pitiful price being offered at the rice station in town which is the only place for miles where we can sell it.
Lorry brings it all back to the house and our rice house is soon full. The rice will stay here for quite a while in the hope that the price will increase a little once everyone else has sold their harvest - slim hopes !


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb