Not so lucky this morning ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 6th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

There is a heavy shower as we wake up this morning but it only lasts for about 1/2 hour.
The duck eggs ae too big for our poaching pan and make a bit of a mess bubbling out of ther cups. Will have to resort to frying them from tomorrow onwards.
The sky isnt looking too good but we decide to bike into Phon Thong ayway to sort out some stuff at the bank. I can never get used to the idea of having to pay the bank to take my money from me but you have to ay for everything here. I get a new ATM card to replace my expired one and it costs me about 6GBP for the pleasure ... and we think British banks are a bit dodgy ?!
It is now raining heavil again and we sit in the bank for 15mins or so in the vague hope that it will stop but no chance of that happenng. We venture out into the storm and on the wa back into town I spot a shop selling waterproofs and we both grab one. Makes us look like a couple of teletubbies ... wearing a giant green condom I guess I would be Dipsy but Jai is in orange so a completely new character.
The rain on our way back to Khamnadie is biblical and it stings as it hits my face and at times is so heavy I can barely see where we are going which isnt ideal on these roads. Strip our condoms off as soon as we get back to find that they have passed the most extreme of tests and we are almost completely dry.
I sit in the house all afternoon as the rain continues. Watch The Eagle Has Landed on DVD.
Late afternoon the rain finally stops so I quickly take the opportunity to walk up the road and make my weekly report in to Gloucester. We also visit the village market whilst it is dry and lucky we did as by 16:30 the rain has returned.
I sit on our front porch and watch as the road outside the house quickly floods again. We are on the lower side of the road and the water runs straight out from the Docs house opposite and pools outside our front gate. With the rwed mud it brings with it means that our front is a bit of a quagmire throughout the rainy season.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb