Digging begins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 14th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

There is a 3 day party starting today at a house that adjoins our back garden and after breakfast Jai is off to help with the preparations. The party is to mark the anniversary of the lady's husband's death. There will no doubt be excessively loud music and little sleep for the next 2 nights.
I give the piece of garden I intend to dig another good soaking before we eat and then go to work before the sun clears the trees at the bottom of the garden. It doesnt look much by the time I have finished but at least I feel as though I have made a start.
George visits mid-afternoon, lonely as his wife and daughter are visiting another daughter in Bangkok and he is 'home alone' for the week. He wont stop talking today and is here for a couple of hours eating into my evenings work time.
After George leaves I bike Jai to the village market then water the piece of garden that I will dig in the morning.
This evening we are eating at yai Dee's where the party is. I dont usually go to these things but as she is a neighbour and we sort of get on OK I thought I would make the effort. A row of 10 tables are lined up along the middle of her side road but only one of them is occupied when we arrive and it is obvious that we are somewhat early. We are seated at the next table and food is started to be brought to the table. Each table is set for 8 people so we have to wait for a while until more people come to join us. Lots of fish dishes and prawns, neither of which are my favourites, so I settle for some pork and mixed veg. Another disappointment is that there is no alcohol so I cant even wash it down with a beer. As the karaoke starts up I decide that it is time to leave Jai chatting and return to the house.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb