Quick trip to farm


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 28th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

I am tired this morning after having last night's sleep disturbed by the football.
We pop out to the farm to pick up a tool that I need to dig in the new fence posts etc. We can never have a 'quick' visit to the farm if Jai comes as she always has to walk around the paddies and make sure the rice is OK. She returns with an armful of young bamboo for a curry for the next few days and has broken the tool that I needed in the process. Oh well, no fence posts going in today ! I pick up a reasonably sized crab that has sought refuge under the bike then we bike back to the house.
As I have my 'dirty' clothes on I decide to do something in the garden and end up digging out the stumps from the lime and pommegranate trees that I cut down earlier. I now look and feel like an ice-cream that has been left out in the sun and 2 mins after showering I could do with another one.
I take up my usual spot on the front porch in some shade. All I need now is a nice fresh breeze - in my dreams !
Watch another downloaded movie this afternoon from 1976; Boy In The Plastic Bubble, which is not bad at all and a bit different.
Phone mum at my usual time to check-in for the week. Have to end the conversation as the dark sky has started to produce large raindrops and I dont fancy another soaking just yet. Return to the house almost in the dry but the expected storm passes by.
After we have eaten I find an English language documentary on the learning channels and discover there is lots I didnt know about 'sh*t' - the translator's word not mine. The documentary is about a village in Mongolia where the village elder explains that cow sh*t is great for starting fires as it burns quickly, horse sh*t is added later as it last a long time and burns slowly, then sprinkle some sheep/goats sh*t on the top. Just thought I would share this with you all, you never know when it might come in handy ...



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb