Day 7 - Avatar Land


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 25th 2011
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning again greeted us with some rain, before we set off today, Pete got us all to huddle in a circle and explained that today was going to be our toughest! He told a story about a 17 year old boy who lives at Yasathon who has HIV, he writes songs, and every song he writes is for his fallen brothers and sisters at the orphanage, the sad thing is that he writes these stories as he is digging their graves. As we all looked at each other with tears in our eyes, Pete told us to use his story as inspiration to finish the touh day ahead, and know that we are all helping people like him....

We set out on our bikes a little sombre, due to the rain, Petes message, and the fact that this was our last full day riding and tomorrow we will ride into the orphanage and our journeytogether will be over...

An easy 20kms out of town and the 80kms of hills... Petes story got me through a lot of metal barriers today.

A gorgEous ride all day as we all reflected on what we had accomplished and what we had learned.

Plaudits go to Jack Baines, Frank and my ever consistent roomy Jules. She wasn't feeling so good after lunch so I rode the last leg with her, she fell behind a bit so I saw fit to fall off my bike and let laughter cure her.... Always taking o e for the team... As I brushed off the twigs I looked up and saw themost amazing cliff face... This country and all it's beauty have not stopped fascinating me.

Hats off to our support crew who look after us.

It's our last night on tour so I'm going to sign off and enjoy some red wine withthe group...

Tomorrow will be an emotional day and I'm looking forward to seeing everyone on the finish line !

If anyone who is on my ride is reading this, thank you for am inspiring, challenging, fun journey that will never forget. Each and everyone of you are fabulous and I couldn't think of a better bunch of people to do this with.

Lots of love tO all...

Be brilliant and don't forget to tell the people close to you that you love them..

Bec xx.

Advertisement



25th January 2011

Great
You guys are inspirational. I take my hat off to you all and thank you for what you have done and raised for these children. You make my heart feel full. Well done to each and everyone of you, but a special mention must go to my most adorable niece, Bec Freeman. I love you and so proud of what you have accomplished and proud that you care so much. I wish I was your age and had the commitment and dedication that the young of today have. I would do anything to help in any way and wish I could contribute to this fabulous cause. Let me know what an old lady of 55 years of age can do? Love you so much Bec

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb