Ko Samui ... Where Have You Been All My Life?!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
July 20th 2010
Published: August 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Fire Dancers On The Beach 46 secs

Everything Happens For A Reason



Relieved to have left the nightmare of Ko Pha-Ngan behind us, we quickly settled into what we had come south for... lazing on the beach during the day, drinks and chillout time at night... After settling in to our resort, Ark Bar and feasting on massive burgers for lunch in the Ark Bar restaurant with sand between our toes, we decided to walk off the burgers and headed up Chaweng Beach to see what was on offer in Ko Samui... It was roasting hot so we didnt walk too far before heading inland to Beach Road and looping back to the resort. My initial thoughts on Samui were 'wow'! Its very much what I imagine Phuket would have been 20 years ago. Quaint little smelly streets, plenty of touristy shopping with the odd bar and restaurant thrown in for good measure! We enjoyed a swim in the pool once back at the resort before lazing on the beach for the rest of the afternoon. That night we decided to stay at the resort for dinner and drinks.. Ark Bar is very very cool... the sunloungers they have on the beach during the day turn out to little chill out pads at night with small cushions to lounge about on and low slung tables... lots of little fairy lights get strung up everywhere and it becomes very atmospheric! Looking down the beach, all the other resorts had very similar setups... I loved it.. It reminded me of a busy Ko Lanta.

After dinner we decided to head out for a few drinks and wound up having a quick drink at the local Irish pub before heading to a massive nightclub called Green Mango where we had a few more drinkies... Narellle got pretty drunk (first time all holiday) while I only managed a couple of beers before giving up on the drinking idea... I think I was still traumatised from my Ko Phangan experience!!! lol Green Mango is a massive nightclub down a soi of the same name... the soi is lined with small girly bars and nightclubs and at the end is Green Mango... it is huge with two different dancefloors and a different DJ on each. We called it a night pretty early.

Lazy Days & Sleepless Nights



A much needed sleep in was had the next morning.. Jakki and I started on breakfast and Narelle turned up a little worse for wear. After breakfast Jakki and Narelle hit the beach for some tanning while I blogged for a bit. I eventually joined them on the beach where we lazed around, buying trinkets off the beach vendors as they passed by. More than a few of these vendors after trying to sell you stuff would pull out a bag of marijuana and try sell it to you... I couldnt believe it... Never in all my time travelling in Thailand have I seen or been offered drugs... I cant believe people would actually be stupid enough to buy that stuff off these vendors.

Later that night, we headed off to have pizza for dinner. We had plans to meet up with Ken who was back in Samui for his last night. Ken is the guy we had met up with in Bangkok. He had one last night in Thailand so decided to meet up with us for farewell drinks. We had emailed him and told him our plans of where we would be... After dinner we were walking to the Monkey Bay Beach Bar when we happened to run into Ken... who was in the process of looking for us in every Italian restaurant along the strip!

Monkey Bay Beach Bar had been advertising a beach party so we headed there. The whole beach was lit up with neon lights and it all looked very 'rave-y'. Happy hour was still on so I ordered myself a bucket of redbull/vodka and settled in on chairs on the beach to soak up the alcohol and atmosphere! While hanging out on the beach, a few fire-twirlers/dancers put on a show for us... it was amazing... they were throwing their sticks of fire to each other over the crowd of people as well as doing the usual twirling all to the beat of the very funky music that the DJ was cranking out.. looked awesome! We got chatting to some guys from Melbourne and then all of us ended up heading to Green Mango. The rest of the night is a bit hazy but we hit the dancefloor, drank shots and redbull/vodkas before calling it a night and heading to McDonalds! What I do remember from that night is that Thailand McDonalds have the BEST deep fried chicken! Well it was the BEST at 4am drunk! LOL

Massages, Tanning and Chill Out Time



The following day was spent again on the beach.. it took me a while to make it to the beach due to the hangover and once there we didnt tan too much.. Jakki was looking pretty sunburnt by that stage... and I didnt want to overdo it too soon... Narelle was not feeling well so she spent most of the day in her room. To give ourselves a break from the sun, Jakki and I went for a walk to do some shopping. While Jakki looked for some dresses I saw a lady making papaya salad on the side of the road... I went and got some before deciding it was massage time for me. Jakki continued to shop while I went for a foot massage. It was so good that in the end I ordered a thai massage too and spent 2 hours being pampered!

Feeling refreshed I met back up with Jakki and we decided to grab a quick bite to eat... we spoke with Narelle who wasnt feeling well still so ordered her some soup, got her some dehydration drinks and went back to see how she was. She wasnt well so Jakki and I headed to the resort bar for a few quiet beers. We were keen to fire up but after a couple of drinks (and knowing we had a long day of travel the next day) we called it a night pretty early and headed to bed!

I know its taken a while to get the blogs back up and running but I am getting there. Ko Samui was amazing and I wish we had longer there... I will definitely be back.. and as for my blogs, I will leave the rest for my next (final) blog of the trip. Still to come: the bus journey from hell and Phuket...

Love to all
Reet xxx






Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



30th August 2010

left hanging
Hi Marita, my wife Colleen and I have recently stumbled across your blogs and have very much enjoyed reading of your adventures and mishaps on your travels through Thailand and SE Asia..... We are dying to know what happened on the rest of the last trip ? Regards Paul & Colli
6th September 2010

Hey reet! Samui pics look great, have good memories of ark bar from being out there a couple of years ago - quality place. Sounds/looks like you had muchos fun. Looking forward to reading your last blog when you get around to writing it, the bus journey from hell sounds as entertaining as ever! Extended bus trips in thailand suuuuuuck.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb