A Day of Nothing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
November 5th 2013
Published: November 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Let me start out by saying, in the world of Travel Bloggers, I am the Jerry Seinfeld of blogging, my blog is about nothing. If you are a Seinfeld fan at all (Iris, Lisa, Angela) you will know what I mean. What did I do today, I got up, had breakfast, sat by the pool, in other words nothing, but I blog about it. I blog for my family and friends back home who find my musings interesting for the most part, after all what serious traveler cares about how I got chased out of a Bangkok Massage House by a little Thai lady with a mean broom, or my ride down a mountain in Peru yelling Bano, Bano to the poor frantic driver trying to find me a toilet before I crapped myself, or how I was almost killed by a Mario Andretti driver and a cow in the road in Cambodia. Now don’t get me wrong, I love a good travel blog and there are a couple of good ones that I follow, but these guys are the pros, the ones who have thousands of people following their every move around the world. They climb a mountain in Tibet and we are all there to read about it. When it comes to traveling I am a guppy in a sea of sharks. But, I know my place and very happy where I am. So, it was not without notice that when I logged on to my travel blog today to update, something caught my eye, I have a follower. Someone who wants to be notified when I make an entry. Yes 1 (one). I thank them and welcome them to my little corner of the net. I guess all great blogs start out with a single follower, so who knows. I may have to straighten my act up and get serious about this. Until then, welcome to a blog about nothing.

Case in point:

Slept in today and decided to make this a chill day. Walked just a short hop down the beach and had some good coffee and a banana pancake on the beach. I love the fact that you can spend all day in your flip flops and bathing suit, even to go out and eat at night. I would love to come back to this place for 2 weeks and do nothing else.

Went for a swim in the sea, then sat out a bit and then went for a swim in the pool, then sat out a bit and read. Such a tough day.

Sat and visited with the 2 girls from Holland, they invited me to go with them and a couple of others to a night market somewhere on the island and have dinner. They are so sweet to include an old geiser like me. How could I say no.

The lady who owns this place when I inquired about Moto Rental said she has bikes for rent, so tomorrow that is on the agenda.

I took a walk up to the road for the first time today, found a fruit stand and bought some items to munch on over the next few days. The fruit here is amazing, so sweet and good.

Met up with everyone around 6, so there were 6 of us, a regular United Nations of nationalities. Turns out the German couple in one of the Bungalows is just a single German man, so he joined us and the lady from France. She lives in Nice, which I have been too, and owns a Restaurant where she is the chef. She is a very nice lady. The man from Germany comes here every year for a couple of weeks and loves it, I can see why. We found out that our information was wrong and there is no night market, so we went to eat and wander the beach checking out all the goings on. There was very little breeze last night which made for a very sticky night, so I had to get be a Daiquiri to cool me off. The food was really good but we had to laugh because they don’t always bring food out in the right order. We all ordered a different tempura starter, and then all ordered different main courses so we could share, but they brought Thomas’s main course first, then followed with 2 starters, them brought the French lady her main course, too make a long story short. Sondra did not get any food, but Thomas had already been served his entire meal. It’s a part of what you have to expect from this place, an d not let it bother you. The only person who cared was the Chef, she was like this would never happen back at home, but we are not back at home – lol.

Walking down the beach we ran across these guys and girl twirling batons of fire, they were really good and I got some good video. Once again, I hope to get that downloaded soon. The internet connection here is not good enough to download video, so hopefully when I get to Bangkok.

Got back to my Bungalow at 12:30, but had a great time. Everyone is so nice.

I went out on my balcony to type this blog and when I got all set up, I heard this “splat” next to me. I looked down and this big while blob was on the floor and I looked up and this bat was hanging from the top of the roof. It missed the keyboard to my computer by inches, so decided the bat did not want me around, so I moved locations.

The couple that owns the Bungalows are really nice. Since the Holland girls and myself will be leaving Thursday, they are going to help us have a beach BBQ. We have agreed to go buy the stuff if they would do the cooking, so we are all going shopping later. I saw some great Watermelons at the fruit stand at the road so I am going to buy one of those to share. We are all excited for this, someway to celebrate our last night on the island.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



6th November 2013

Ive been waiting!
So who did you meet at dinner? Im dying to find out! Post the pic already! Was it Miley Cyrus? Pics or it didnt happen........
6th November 2013

From your one Follower...
and hope you get a few more. You fit right in with Travelblog as none of us take blogging so seriously that we have to be something other than ourselves. Most of us start blogging for ourselves, family, or friends, then realize that we are connected to a much larger audience. Don't let that affect you other than encouraging you to keep writing about your travels. Glad to hear you stood next to my radar station!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb