Ban Krut to Chumphon - 116km


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
January 21st 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Whoa o we are halfway there, whoa o living on a prayer!

We reached the halfway mark... Day 4 of riding...OMG we climbed about 34 hills today... They kept telling us it would be our toughest.. We set off this morning a little unsure about the day ahead... Our first leg was flat along the coast line which lulled us in to a false sense of security that they were having us on... 20km leg

Second leg saw us climb 40m above sea level and again we all felt good, alot of this was on the highway.... 25km lef

The third leg is where it all went wrong.... we climbed a further 100m above sea level and by this time th sun was belting down... I turned to my iPod again to get me through.. My riding partner for the day was Amy, a girl from Brissy... We soon worked out that when we both are exhausted we like to swear at the hills and this seems to get us through...

Lunch time was great! Again i ate like a demon and refueled for what was going to be a huge 2 legs home.

We climbed and climbed and climbed... A little Thai man sped passed me on his scooter and yelled at me, I nearly fell off my bike, but i have yet to cause any carnage to myself or anyone else.. Yay me!

Finally i could see our leaders standing at the gates to the resort and i haven't never felt so much relief..... I came in around the front of the middle pack today, but to tell the truth i was just happy to finish...

Our groups morale is at an all time high with everyone helping each other get up those horrible hills.... and waiting at each stop until everyone is finished before we eat or refuel with water..

One water stop at a time! That's how i roll!

I had a few mental battles to fight today where your brain tells you to stop and your legs keep going around and around and around... However i won! And i know that the lessons i have learned about myself i will carry through the rest of my life.

Some inspirational performances today, Sandra - who's legs are black and blue from the amount of falls... Frank - our 63 year old rider battling up the hills, Kelsey and Jayden - our young guns who's legs work twice as hard as everyone elses and Fearless leader who is battling the flu and still rides like a demon.

Tomorrow is our rest day and i think it has come just in time... We are not looking sexiest with great T-shirt tans and Riding short marks as well as heat rash.. But, we will push through and celebrate our halfway mark, and it just so happens IT'S A FULL MOON PARTY HERE IN THAILAND.... LOOK OUT!

I'm off to join in the celebrations with a well deserved Singha and maybe a few Mai Tai's!

Love to all...

DOIN IT FOR THE KIDS!!!!

xx

Advertisement



21st January 2011

Onya Bec
I hate cycling so you've no idea how much admiration I'm feeling right now! Well done. The kids are not the only winners. It'll be an experience you'll never forget :-)
22nd January 2011

Good on ya Bec. Sounds like you doing it fine. Must be great to be half way. All the best to Mitch and Zac and all the riders. Graeme

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb