Ladyboys, hangover and tuk tuks


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 3rd 2013
Published: September 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I was terrified to get on the plane but when I realised I had a whole row to myself I fell asleep for pretty much most of the journey, well it was also probably helped by theValium type tablets and vodka lemonades! The second flight from Mumbai to Thailand was horrible, But I arrived safely! First thing I noticed about Bangkok is the traffic, I thought Hayford hill in oxford was bad for traffic - I was very much mistaken, after an hour and a half taxi journey I finally arrived at my hotel - hooray! I wasn't allowed to check in until 2pm - great it was 8am and I had no way of having a shower or anything. I decided to make myself get out and explore the city - even if I was on my tod.
Bangkok's zebra crossings do not have the same meaning as they do in England, basically you take your life into your hands when crossing and hope to god that a tuk tuk doesn't mow you down. After taking a while to cross the road, I headed to get a taxi to the great temple. Taxi drivers at home are miserable - these guys can't stop talking to you, my taxi driver (baring in mind he must be heading toward retirement age) not only wanted to find out my life story but then asked do I like music, I replied yes, expecting him to put on some Thai music instead this drum and bass comes on and he starts fist pumping the air - you like to dance miss- a rather entertaining journey! Arrived at the temple, had to rent some clothes to cover up with - a fabulously flattering shirt and skirt combo 😉 the temple from the outside is spectacular covered in gold and jewels and guarded by these huge animal guards. Less exciting inside, so after a while I headed back to the hotel tuk tuk style - if anyone doesn't know what these are they are basically mopeds with seats fixed the back, very crazy driving but fun- horrrraaaayyyyy I could get into my room, I couldn't get the bell boy to move my bag quick enough, yay shower! I felt so much better, then looked into my bag and realised the lid of my bug spray had not only fallen off and snapped but it had leaked everywhere, my phone screen was completely ruined which also means my photos won't upload brilliantly to my blog but I will do my best!Anyway so after hair drying my bag and possessions - which still smell of mozi killer it was time to try some Thai food, obvious choice was pad Thai - very nice it was indeed beats any I have had back home anyway! met my room mate and then went to the meeting. Everyone's really nice like last time which is good and I finally got to have a conversation with someone yay! We headed out to dinner and I had a traditional green curry - even a mild curry still blew my head off! Then I had set myself two missions - set of the hangover and ladyboys. The set of the hangover is on top of what is apparently the highest restaurant and bar in the world - it's a black suit affair so I had to change my clothes in the toilet and give my rucksack to reception - I didn't want to miss it! We got to the 64th floor and of corse you had to buy a drink to take pictures etc so
Panoramic view of BangkokPanoramic view of BangkokPanoramic view of Bangkok

Not sure if this will come out well on the blog but here was the view
what better to go with than the Hangovertini apparently made with the cast when filming, The views were stunning, never seen anything like it in my life! I have posted a few pictures - notice I'm not standing close to the wall I was too scared to let go of the bar haha!Mission one complete next up was lady boys - not for anything weird just because that's what bangkoks famous for, we went down the street and it was spot which ones the ladyboy - hilarious they were more feminine and dressed up than me!So a rather eventful first day if I do say so myself and I was brave enough to get exploring on my own - brownie points to me!Up early today to head to the boarder of Cambodia. Huge contrast of corse as bangkok is very advance and Cambodia is full of beautiful countryside and rice fields. Seen a sign warning of crocodiles - note to self don't take a dip in the rice fields! Lots of more goings on around here - cows wondering about across the roads, people harvesting the rice, tiny barge boats and shanty like houses. We are staying in the city of Siem Reep, once we arrived at the hotel we headed to one of the volunteer places where the money from our trip goes towards teaching poor children English and other lessons so that they can get a job, we stood in to one of there lessons and then they cooked for us, they like to eat bugs in Asia and we were offered some local cuisine so I felt rude not accepting and ate a cricket! It was a bit crunchy and the legs got stuck - yuk! We then headed into the night markets - lots of people asking to you to buy there things - had a go at bartering and got some presents already! Anway that was a long first entry, will have lots to talk about in the next couple of days as I am Heading to Ankor Wat tomorrow which is the reason I booked this trip - it's the set of tomb raider if anyone is not sure what it is 😊 hope everyone is well - over and out ! Em xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

First Thai dish in Thailand !First Thai dish in Thailand !
First Thai dish in Thailand !

Sorry for the blur on the bottom but here is my first real Thai dish - yum!


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb