ZOO!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 10th 2005
Published: April 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure where I left off in my last entry so I'll pick up from last night.

Last night we decided to go out drinking. On Khao San Rd they have these awesome little cocktail bars on the side of the road, and then lots of little tiny plastic chairs in the middle of the road for you to sit on. Anyways, I ended up having two shots there and then tried one of their 'buckets', which is whiskey, red bull, and coke, all in a bucket with a few straws. Eitherway though, the bucket was gross, I didn't enjoy it at all and didn't finish it, but the whole sidewalk cocktail bar is cool. We met some crazy english people, and this guy named Ash who claimed to be a reverend performed an impromtu wedding for two british chicks. It was hilarious. He then went around absolving people of their sins, crazy bastard. We wanted to check out a club but they had ridiculous cover and none of us had any ID on us, so we decided not to and hit the bed at around midnight, a new record for us.

We all still ended up waking up at around 7:00AM this morning but decided we wouldn't get out of bed until 9:00. Once we did get up we ate at the cafe that's part of our guesthouse. I just had a watermelon shake, which was delicious. On a sidenote, I haven't been listening to the guidebooks telling people not to eat fruit they didn't peel themselves. I've eaten tonnes of fruit off of the street vendors. Pineapple, watermelon, cantelope, and some other stuff that I don't know the name of. We decided we wanted to go to the zoo today so we headed out for that. We thought it looked pretty close on the map so we decided to walk there. I suppose it was pretty close, it took us maybe an hour or a bit more to walk there. The zoo is located right beside this huge building, I think it's the King's Palace, or residence, or something.

Anyways, the zoo was pretty awesome, it was totally not a zoo aimed at foreigners. I can count the number of white people I saw on one hand, the rest of the people there were thai. Entrance to the zoo was much much cheaper then we could have expected. Only 30bhat, and then an additional 10bhat if you want to go into the reptile area. There were a lot of animals at the zoo. Tigers, monkeys, lions, giraffes, hippos, elephants, and a lot more. It was definitly worth going to, very cheap, and a very nice change from all the tourists on Khoa San.

That's about all that's happened. Oh, and Coral cut all of her dreads off and then her and emily spent another couple hours getting the knots out of her hair. It actually looks pretty good now, not what I would have expected, and I'm glad she didn't shave it, that would have been weird.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Albino Barking DeerAlbino Barking Deer
Albino Barking Deer

apparently the only male one in the world


10th April 2005

Great Pics
The pics look great. Did you ever find those bugs to eat? And good thing Coral didn't totally shave - a sunburned scalp would totally suck. Cheers! - Kakashi
11th April 2005

Yes, we found some bugs to eat. They were locust I think, and they really didn't taste too bad. I didn't have my camera on me so I have no photos, but it is true, I ate them. =) -Craig

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb