Day 18


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 16th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BangkokBangkokBangkok

THE HEART OF THE CITY, THIS SHOP SHOWS THE MODERN INFRASTRUCTURE SUPERIMPOSED OVER THE TRADITIONAL.
It's great to have an ongoing project to maintain. Here I am in Bangkok airport for the third time. This time more than two hours early and I'm checked in for my flight to Phuket. Having had to wait until close of business yesterday to clarify Eva's problems with her lost Visa card, I could not book till last night. The nearby travel agent tried various airlines and declared that all were booked out due to a "long weekend" (I thought today was Wednesday!). So, against my instincts I googled a few options and was connected to Expedia USA. They seemed to think I could have a flight at 11.45am...my preferred time, not too early nor too late. So I booked and paid but the only evidence I had was various codes written on the back of an envelope. So I was concerned that my booking didn't exist or the flight would be overbooked. However, now have a boarding pass and a window seat. So here's hoping.

The ride to the airport along the network of freeways and flyovers is amazing. Bangkok has so many high rise buildings spread over the entire skyline. It is truly a 21st century city
tiger carvingtiger carvingtiger carving

at the base of Wat Arun.
straddling the same charming Bangkok that has existed throughout the previous century. When you walk or ride around in a taxi or tuk tuk or along the klongs is hasn't changed in 30 years or more.

The people are still the same, gracious, charming and helpful. They seem to be quite at home in what might appear to be two contrasting worlds. They still revere their king. His likeness is everywhere-huge banners on public buildings, in every home and office. Even the river boats have illuminated signs saying things like "Long live the King!" or "We love our King!". I have urged Eva to find out from her local hosts about the succession issue. His reign began in 1946 and he is starting to look his age.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb