Day 17


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In the Grounds of the Grand PalaceIn the Grounds of the Grand PalaceIn the Grounds of the Grand Palace

These nursing students asked to practice their English by interviewing me thiis morning.
This morning I set out early to walk to the National museum and Grand Palace. They are quite close to where we are staying on the riverside on the north western side of Bangkok. Unfortunately rhe museum is closed on Tuesdays as well as Mondays. The palace complex is quite magnificent. Whilst I was sitting reading my guide book a few young students approached and asked if they could interview me. They are nursing students and had a sheet with about 10 simple questions to ask including which did I think about global warming. I told them that I wished the government in Australian would be as responsible at the Thai government and build us a wonderful sky train network to encourage us to use public transport. It would appear that most uni students here wear a uniform similar to a school uniform. What a good idea on the part of their teacher to get them out using their English to develop their confidence and fluency. At the end they asked me to write my answers down as well( presumably to help them interpret afterwards.) They also recorded the interview on an MP3 player.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb