Day 16


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday, Eva!Happy Birthday, Eva!Happy Birthday, Eva!

Three singing waiters delivered a cake after they heard it was Eva's birthday celebration dinner.
Starting to feel a little tired and needing some down time. Connie and Rosemary went off today to Phuket, searching for somewhere nice to stay with a hammock swung between two coconut palms near a quiet beach. I fear their search will prove challenging. Lots of the old simple hangouts have been developed by Korean and Japanese resorts.

Eva lost her only Visa card in an ATM (beware...they operate according to a different sequence and instead of returning your card before you access the cash they keep the card concealed until the cash is removed...very easy to pocket the cash and leave. I nearly did it myself today but having once or twice left my card in a supermarket I have developed the technique of putting my thumb in my wallet so I can't close it without looking and then remembering . Of course she lost it on Friday after close of business. The local emergency visa card office said they would call her today but did not and she waited too long till Sydney was closed again!!! She is off to Cambodia for 10 days tomorrow night . So if thus can't be resolved I shall have to give
Tiger Sancturary Tiger Sancturary Tiger Sancturary

After visiting the river Kwai we went to a tiger sanctuary operated by monks at a temple. I do look a little dubious both about the tigers being there and also myself touching them.
her cash. So I am still here.

Tonight I took her to dinner for her 22nd birthday at Lord Jim's seafood restaurant at the Oriental.
Wonderful !!When we ordered a glass of champagne she commented to the waiter that it was her birthday. So of course when dessert came we had three waiters delivering a beautiful chocolate birthday cake and singing!

So here I am waiting to see what happens with Eva and where Connie and Rosemary have decided to go. Then I'll follow on Wednesday. Amazingly Eva is flying home on Friday 26th at midnight, the same time as Connie and I depart for Athens. So we will meet at the airport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Wat ArunWat Arun
Wat Arun

Across the river is this lovely temple, very similar in style to Angkor Wat , but heavily decorated all over with china mosaics, some of which were once actual plates! We were proud of climbing up to the second level, half way up. Very steep and scary.


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb