Chocolate massacre


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 10th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SilomSilomSilom

decorated street vendor
Lazy morning watching TV and reading paper in bed, then a nice long breakfast, reading my book. Then I set off for Silom to do some exploring. It’s very quiet as it’s a Thai national holiday this weekend. I was feeling sorry for them as they usually only get 6 - days holiday per year, then I discovered that there are 15 days of public holidays. Amongst the ”interesting” things I see here today are: a street food vendor who has decorated his cart with Christmas decorations, some men washing the street and some puppies in a cage at the side of a telephone box. I’m hoping that because they are in a cage, and not just left to wander the streets, that they belong to one of the street vendors. From here I walk back up towards the sky train station, and then Lumphini Park. I’m trying to find a Fertility Shrine. Not for any special reason!!! It’s a specific one recommended in the Nancy Chandler map, and it says it’s well worth a look. When I looked at the map, it’s on the road that runs between Suan Lum night bazaar and Lumphini Park, so I reckon it should
SilomSilomSilom

washing the road!
be pretty easy to find. Wrong! I spend about 1 ½ hours walking up and down streets. The reason? I think I know a shortcut! So instead of just starting out at the bottom of Wireless Road where the night bazaar is, I think that if I walk diagonally across the park I should come out further up Wireless Road, nearer to where the Shrine is supposed to be. It doesn’t work out like that however and I spend about ½ an hour wandering around a large junction trying to find if one of the roads from it is Wireless Road. Most of this time is spent trying to actually get across the road! I give up after a while and head back into Lumphini Park, probably my favourite place in Bangkok, and spend some time people watching. Tonight for my entertainment is a huge aerobics class just inside the gates and a group of women doing yoga (I did actually stalk 3 women that I saw carrying yoga mats as I thought they may be heading towards a class). After dinner in a restaurant down little Soi I head back to the hotel. In my room when I get
SilomSilomSilom

washing the road!
back there’s a bottle of sauvignon & petit fours from the f & b manager. I tell myself that I’ll have ½ tonight and the rest tomorrow, but by the end of the night it looks like chocolate massacre!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb