Day 2 - Arriving at Basecamp Yoga House, Weligama


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Weligama
February 22nd 2024
Published: February 22nd 2024
Edit Blog Post

The two hour drive was quite nice, just watching the scenery fly by! We did do a pit stop. Ashkar, the driver, suggested I needed a green tea with ginger to pull me round! We were about halfway at that point, so I was ready for a break. I am feeling so tired because I didn’t manage to sleep on the flights, which is really unusual for me. I can normally sleep anywhere!

It was lovely driving into the house gardens and seeing Ella. I haven’t seen her since October, I was just sorry that I couldn’t give her the gifts that I have brought from home as they are in my case, maybe she will get them tomorrow!

I got a shower whilst Ella sorted out a tee shirt and shorts for me to wear, but it wasn’t straight forward as I have piled on the kilos!!! I’m quite a bit wider than Ella! Ha ha Then we went shopping for flip flops!!!

All sorted, we went for a little sushi snack and iced coffee, then a long walk along the beach, dipping our toes in the sea. It’s beautiful.

Weligama has a real relaxed vibe. Lots of yoga and surfing, with beautiful, tanned, fit young people everywhere!

Ella had a bit of work to do, so we made our way back to Basecamp. I just sat in the shade drinking water. It is 4:30pm, and the travelling, and lack of sleep is really catching up with me now; I want to sleep but I’m holding off because if I sleep now, I will be up all night!

To fill this gap, and stop me from sleeping too early, I decided to go with Ella for an ice bath, closely followed by a sauna. Apparently, it’s really good for the body, I just got an iced coffee, and watched the proceedings! Ooohhhh…..that’s too extreme!

At this point I am on my knees, but also needing to eat. I’ve now been awake for 36 hours, so we went for pizza before going home to bed! It’s a new day tomorrow. Ella got a phone call to inform us that the suitcase has landed in Colombo and will arrive here sometime tomorrow. It’ll be another day staying at the base camp, but I think I’ll need another day to settle down!

So…. Until tomorrow… I’m hoping for a full turnaround of events!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb