Tangalle 2


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Tangalle
February 10th 2014
Published: February 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

When you live in the jungle you have an obligation to share it with the wildlife. I got into my bed last night with my head torch on and saw a 2" cockroach up on the inside of the mozzie net. Needless to say it had to be transferred to its own quarters, outside. The mini ants were a different case due to the shear number running up and down between the back of the mirror and the washbasin carrying soap. I had to surrender and accept their presence with grace and humility. However, tonight I realised that they were using the exact same path to and from the mirror, bumping into each other when going in opposite directions. I wiped across the track with a tissue and they were totally lost and went haywire going in all directions looking for the path. I wiped the whole track and, hey presto, gone. The snake also made its own decision as it slithered away from under the cabin and into the undergrowth when I returned from the beach this afternoon. I just hope the feral dogs don’t strike up again as this morning. As soon as the ’call to prayer’ struck up at 5am the dogs started their chorus for 15 minutes whilst the call lasted all the way until 6am. What a way to start a day. Another temple this morning, I have now lost count but it is too many for most of us, this one was out in the country on top of a large rock surrounded by men trying to sell us flowers and guiding duties. A young wedding couple were having photos taken nearby so we joined in, of course, and very nice they were too.I declined the tour round the temple due to no more temple room in my head, or in my camera, for another Buddha image. A quick tyre change now due to a nail in the van tyre, the wire showing around half the circumference was a minor detail and not any part of the decision making process. The late afternoon was spent paddling in paradise on the most fabulous beach ever and watching the crabs scuttling about and clutching the rocks as they were pounded by the big waves. Yes. Heaven.Oh no, the dogs have now started, drat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb