Day 11 - Hairdressing, Hippy market and last supper!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Ahangama
March 2nd 2024
Published: March 2nd 2024
Edit Blog Post

Correction from earlier in the week, the iguana… it wast an iguana at all, it was a sea monitor. I’m still no wiser, but thought I should correct myself!

This will be my final amazing breakfast with Ella at Basecamp. As I leave tomorrow. In one thought, I seem to have been busy and done a lot, but I’m the next thought, I think…. Whooosh… we’re did the time go! I will be happy to move on to the next phase of my journey, but also dad to leave Ella behind!

After breakfast we decided to crack on and get Ella’s highlights done. Honestly, I’m dreading doing them. It’s been around 25 to 30 years for me since I did this sort of stuff. In fact woven highlights hadn’t been invented when I was in salon!!!! I also have concerns about the shop bought bleach. You simply have no back up plan like you do in a salon… but here goes!!

The staff at Basecamp found the whole process hilarious. I’m not sure they’ve ever seen anything quite like a head full of foils!!! They said Ella was like a Queen with a crown on!

That’s it, job done! It took about 90 minutes in total. Ella’s happy, so I’m happy! Nilu has already arrived in his tuk tuk to take us to Ahangama. We are going round the pool at dream Seas for a couple of hours before the hippy market. Dream seas is a hotel on the beach front that we visited earlier in the week. It also has a swing hanging from a coconut tree…. That Ella is trying to get e on! Ha ha

We had a drink in the shady table area when we arrived. I had iced tea, Ella had a beer. I did want coffee, but a lot of places seem to be waiting for the delivery from the main city of Colombo. We’ve now been told the same in a few places. I find that rather harsh, but there’s nothing you can do!

After a bit of sunbathing, we set off for a walk up the beach. It’s so relaxing, but also really hot today. Ella got her wish, and got me on the swing.. ha ha I could barely reach the damn thing, then when I got fully onto it, it dropped its height by about 2 feet, so funny! Ella couldn’t wait to get me going as high as she could, but my weight made it harder for her .. ha ha!

We finished the walk, and we’re soon back to being horizontal on the grass! The heat makes you so much more tired after very little physical effort! Ella had a lovely fresh tuna salad. I didn’t eat as I don’t seem to get as hungry in the heat! Which isn’t a bad thing to be honest.. ha ha

We left Dream Seas at about 3:30 to go to the Hippy market. It was something a bit different to see, but the prices are so crazily inflated that they actually put price themselves! We had a mooch round, all the same! Ella bumped into a man that she knew from her time in Morocco! He lived in Tamraght, which was the village she lived n for 6 years! It’s just shows what a small world we live in!

We left Ahangama to go to Coconut Beach in Midigama. We have an hour or so left before Ella needs to be back at work. We did come here a few days ago to watch the sunset. I got a coconut to sink, Ella got a beer. We simply sat at the sea edge watching the turtles bobbing up and down, and in and out on the waves.

Simultaneously, way back of the turtles are the surfers riding their waves! Oh, it’s so beautiful. With every passing five minutes, more surfers entered the water. By the time we left, there were surfers all along the horizon!

Nilu is picking us up at 5:30 to get back to Basecamp. I need to get showered and sorted before we go for our lady evening meal together.

Showered and sorted, I went outside to say goodbye to Nina, as sues leaving at 7pm. Then on to Nicky, she’s staying a while longer. Tomorrow there are 4 people checking out, and 4 checking in… and do the wheel turns!

We set off for our first stop, Ice, my time for blog catch up and a drink whilst Ella dips! Ohh.. the mosquitoes are busy tonight! Thank goodness for my 40 deet repellent!

We went to the Lebanese restaurant near Ive for dinner. Tonight we are having shakshukka, baba ganouj and Lebanese fajita! So this should be interesting.

Well that was a bit disappointing! 2 out of the three were ok, the third, not so good, but that’s the one and only disappointment in 10 days. So I’ll not complain! Then it’s back to Basecamp for a few hours sleep as I leave in 5 hours at 3am!

See you all in Bali!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



2nd March 2024

You must be sad...but WOW!
Hi Lesley.....I have loved reading about your time in Sri Lanka with Ella. I can only imagine how sad it will be to leave her,,,but what an experience...and I bet you'll be back! So Bali here you come. Once had a fabulous holiday in Bali with Colin many many years ago now......so looking forward to your next blog. Safe flight. Take care.
3rd March 2024

Hi Angela
I’m had a great time with Ella, Both her and Beth make me so proud! I’ll have a drink to you and Colin whilst I’m here xx
2nd March 2024

Living the life
Hi Les glad to see your enjoying your holiday and soaking up all that sunshine. Keep living the life. Xx
3rd March 2024

Hi Martin!
I’m loving it, pleased to see your comment. I always look forward to checking in the blog for them xx
2nd March 2024

So enjoying your blog really look forward to it. On to your next chapter can’t wait for Bali. Although you will miss Ella you’ve made some fantastic memories hun. Safe journey Les😘
3rd March 2024

Hi Julie
Aww, I’m pleased you’re enjoying the blog. It is a lot of effort, but I like doing it!
3rd March 2024

Hi Julie
Aww, I’m pleased you’re enjoying the blog. It is a lot of effort, but I like doing it!
3rd March 2024

Looks like your having a lovely time les x
3rd March 2024

Hi Gemma
Yea, I am…. But it’s not quite a ‘Bev’ type holiday .. ha ha

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb