Day 12 - Travelling Day - Weligama, Sri Lanka to Ubud, Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia
March 3rd 2024
Published: March 3rd 2024
Edit Blog Post

I’ve set the alarm for 2:30am. The taxi will be coming to pick me up at 3am. I’m already to go! As I was getting my luggage out, Ella came in, so perfect timing! We said our goodbyes, with tears on both sides, I know she living her best life, doing what she’s doing, but it’s hard leaving her behind. We’ve had a great time together.

The drive to Colombo airport is about 2 hours. I nodded, and dozed most of the way. We arrived there at about 5:30. I went straight to the self log in, as the online system had directed. I went through the procedure, but no boarding card, or luggage tag came out of the machine. I know I should have enough time, a couple of hours, but looking at the queues… that may not be enough!!! I scan round for help, I finally found a guy who sent me over to the other side of the huge hall. Off I went. I queued…. No the online service can’t do my ticket, I have to check in physically!! Off I go again to queue at counter 3. I felt like time was flying past, whilst I was standing still!

Eventually, my turn, case in, go to gate 14. I queued again for immigration. My patience were growing thin at this point. It was the slowness of everything, but also the ignorance of others, just ramming in front of people. No one managed it in front of me personally, but indirectly, as they did it to people in front of me, I was really rattled by it! When it was my turn, all good. I could see the sign behind the guy…Gate 14- They are boarding now!! WHAT? I still have the full security section yet! I took comfort in the fact that I recognised people behind me who were also in the Jakarta queue.,. So I wasn’t the last person.

Finally I’m done, sign says - final call - I get fast walking to gate 14, didn’t get a coffee, or a wee… nothing…. I’m on it, getting to that gate! Phewww, and I made it to a hall full of waiting people!!! I could have got a coffee and had a wee… but no, I trusted the signs!

I finally boarded the plane…I nodded off, only to be woken by a person who wants to get to their seat next to me….. an hour later!!!! It’s now 8:30, and we haven’t even set off!!! People are actually still boarding!!!! No words!!!

I braced myself for the take off. I’m better now that I have these new earplugs that balance the air pressure, but after all the problems I’ve had with my ears since December, I’m more on edge, but I have a little more confidence as they did the job fine coming to Sri Lanka, so I’m hopeful!

Take off was ok, no problems, so was able to snooze. It didn’t feel like we had been going for ten minutes, and they were waking me up, offering water. Ten minutes later another nudge for food. It was vegetable curry and roti. Not my preferred breakfast option, but it went down ok!! considering! Although, it did leave my lips tingling! Then just as I finished eating, here they come again with coffee? throughout the whole time, all I had really just wanted to do was to snooze…. Not a chance!

We’ve been on the flight for an hour and 10 minutes … ey up…. They’re on the way back to collect everything back in already! It’s a shame the ground crew doesn’t don’t work as fast!

There’s some turbulence… everybody is bloody screaming from the back end of the plane! I know it makes you a bit edgy, but it’s not that bad! Or maybe I’m less tolerant at the moment!

Finally I get to snooze. I have managed nearly an hour. It’s now 10:42. It’s get pretty stressful so far… and I wasn’t stressed at all about the journey! .. so annoying!

Things settled down after that, I woke up and watched a couple of episodes of Living with the Walter Boys, on Netflix. Just as I finished episode 2, we were starting to drop in height, and preparing to land! So much got my ear plugs back in ready for the landing.

And I thought I’d got through the hard part!!!

When I landed in Jakarta, it simply got worse! It’s been a nightmare. When I first checked in,!I asked about my luggage going straight through, she said yes! I checked the labelling on the case. It was clearly marked; Colombo - Jakarta, then Jakarta- Depensar! Check! I got all the way through buying a visa, which had its little difficulty, they only take cash. Luckily I had some GBP notes stashed away for emergencies! I completed my online customs form, and at the same time exchanged some currency. I fear landlords no at the other side with no cash…. Just in case. You simply never know what you might face! Again, they don’t take a card, so my last £70 cash went on that! Plus a bit of odd Baht that Donna gave me…. Thinking it was Sri Lankan money! Thanks Donna! Oh no…. So many noughts on the money does my head in! I got about 1,750,000 rupiahs!!!

I sailed through customs, but then couldn’t find where to go to get the transfer flight! I was going from person to person asking for help, with no one offering me clear guidance. I got frustrated as I had no idea what time it is in this country as I’ve got no WiFi yet for my clock to change. I don’t know if I’m early, late or simply ok for time!!!

I finally backtracked to the customs man; eventually he helped me. , he said I had to collect my luggage! I explained that it was going straight through. He told me that’s not going to happen as I have flown Sri Lanken Airline, then in to Garuda Airlines, therefore the luggage won’t transfer!

I had to find my way back through the whole airport all over again to collect my luggage from the baggage claim, and then do it all again. I felt like I was in a minefield. I was sweating buckets!!! Then when I went to check luggage back in, it was a problem again, as it should have gone through! But if I hadn’t have collected it, and taken it off the carousel…. God knows where it would be now!
Eventually I got sorted. I have now got a coffee, and am at the correct gate to fly to Bali!!!!

All good in the end, but harrowing at the time. It may not have been as pressurised if I had stopped to find out the correct time! But I simply got sidelined!!!! I am boarded, and on my way again!

Since boarding, it’s been a good flight. The food was more time appropriate. Chicken and rice. I enjoyed it! Followed by a water, and a coffee! All done, got my ear plugs back in for the landing. I’m continuing to manage the ear/ pressure problem so far…. 4 flights done! I’ve obviously calmed down now. I’m not so irritated by everyone, and everything.. ha ha

Well that was a really welcome change. The flight was smooth, baggage collection, simple, and the transfer was smooth!

The transfer took about 90 minutes. It’s so dark that I can’t really see what it’s like outside, so I’ll have a good mooch tomorrow.

The hotel is lovely, room is huge, and amazing. Way above my normal standards … ha ha

I got all checked in, then came down to the hotel cafe area for a cappuccino to unwind. It’s now 22:40, but I’ve been through time zones, so have no idea what time my body thinks it is!

Next, shower and bed.

I’m done in for today!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb