"Life Begins When You are Standing on the Edge of your Comfort Zone"


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 20th 2015
Published: June 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I flew across the Atlantic, over cities in Spain/Portugal, flew across the brightly lit coastline of Africa over the Mediterranean Sea, discovered the desserts of Abu-Dhabi even if only for a moment, and journeyed by air through India watching the sun move across the Himalayans. The world is beautiful and I am in love with it. I don't ever need to figure my life out because I always knew what I had to do with it. <br style="line-height: 22.8571px;" /><br style="line-height: 22.8571px;" />I arrived at Kathmandu at night after watching the movie "Wild" and feeling like a confident woman. Security immediately singled me out at the airport asking where I was coming from and everyone kept starring at me. Also there was a bathroom that read "for foreigners only". It was then that it occurred to me that I am a double minority here, female and white (also young if you want to count that) so I better be careful... but not really because I still attempted to walk to my hostel. Literally every 20 seconds, probably less, a taxi driver was harassing me for a lift and men kept saying hello. Dogs are loose everywhere and I saw a dead one lying on the floor ?

I HATE CAPTIALISM SO MUCH because there are one room houses with no doors that shelter a huge family and I can literally see into their house and walk in at anytime. When I finally for into a taxi he took me into an alley way and that is when I thought "oh God what did I do I am going to be murdered and won't even survive a day"... turns out he was just asking for directions to my hostile. That is when I realized that I am being paranoid and not everyone is a psycho killer like my family would have me believe. People here are actually really nice, it took 2 hours to find my hostel, because there was no street names or addresses, and along the way these people kept trying to help us and they all gave me their numbers incase I needed a place to sleep that night. I finally arrive at my hostile at 11pm but this place is so empty I have a room of 8 bed to myself. MISTAKE #2 I forgot to exchange my money so I had to give the cab driver a 20 in Canadian and hoped it was enough to cover the fare. I messaged the guy I like, I wish he had come with me, I almost convinced him but I do not know if he was intoxicated or not when he almost said yes. Oh well, at least he is home and helped me book my return flight since I also did not do that yet. I needed him to do it because once you search flights on your device the price goes up. Sure enough on my phone it said $1,000 and on his PC it said $700... so I saved 300 bucks, #beatingthesystem!.

I hit my head three times on the bed post already, sighhh...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb