What did I get myself Into? From MTL - NYC - UAE - to Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 19th 2015
Published: June 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

In the span of a week I managed to travel to Quebec City for the people's climate march, write an essay, produce a children's book, work, do my final paper, and pack for my trip.... I am scared that my trip will be a disaster and a waste of time. I have not booked a hostel, my hiking boots have already been on my feet for an hour and they are already super uncomfy, I have been at this airport for only 5 minutes and already I left my wallet unattended, everyone thinks 3 weeks is too short of a time to travel across the world and that I am too care-free and maybe they are right. Tourism is a performance, we feed the audience the narrative that they want to hear, so what if I come back with a completely false understanding of Nepal because I did too many touristy things, this is why I didn't want to get a travel guide.

This guy I have a super duper big crush on biked to my house at like 3am Thursday night to help me pack and again on Friday to help me with my essay. I never know what this guys is thinking, he is literally the most confusing person in the world, maybe he was bored, but I hope it was for selfless reasons because that is like one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me and I will really miss him the most because I see him like almost everyday. Funny story his friend was supposed to drive me at "4am Saturday night" to the airport and he took that literally so he texted me Friday-going-on-Saturday waiting to drive me to the airport. Poor guy stayed up all night but by Saturday at 4am I meant like Saturday night/Sunday. So long story short my super duper crush ended up driving me and I think he was tearing up a bit when he left me. So cute!




So now it is 6:40 am I am in a tiny bus-plane, no one is next to me though, awww yeeaahh! There is nothing better than flying in between darkness and a sunrise, it reminds me of the first time I ever took a plane a year or two ago to go to London. It is the most beautiful experience in the world. Spent my layover in NYC booking a hostel and learning some Nepalese, at least now I have a place to stay when I land.




THIS IS THE NICEST FLIGHT EVER, skies must be clear or we are not that high up... I can see city lights in what must be Portugal/Spain. Turns out no one wants to go to Abu-Dhabi in UAE because this plane is empty and I am just chillin' on three seats by myself (and that means 3 pillows and blankies) next to the window and the wing, eating some delicious lamb, best seat ever. Now I am flying over the coast of Africa, the world is so amazing. UAE's airport is the fanciest airport if I've ever seen one. I guess that is what happens when you have dirty oil $$$. Each boarding room is private, there is lounges where they feed you chocolate, and they are selling shiny things everywhere lol. The police women wear skirts some men are in suits, some are in suites, some have turbans, some have white thawbs/khamis... it is very culutrall diverse here. One woman asked me to take a photo of her "and those fascinating people below", so racist.




WHERE ARE ALL THE WOMEN?? I am literally the only woman in the terminal for the flight heading to Kathmandu but it's okay I am literally bigger than all the men here so I am not afraid. They keep all staring at me every time I move. 4 more women just came but that is it. I made my 1st friend! He asked where I was from and if I knew people living in Nepal... my instincts told me to say yes, yay for listening to them!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb