Time for Some Culture Shock!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 21st 2015
Published: June 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

It's 5am I'm feeling rested and over last night's trauma over finding the hostile, ready to discover KTM today! The dogs were barking all night now I can hear a swarm of seagulls everywhere. It's 6;44am I'm my first breakfast meal cost me $5 and consists of coffee, a banana pancake, and chapati omelette. There are bells that are going off which I now learnt are prayer bells to ward off the bad.
As I was eating breakfast this morning a guy sat down across from me on the terrace, he must have thought I was a creep because I knew his name, but really it was because he was the only name in the hotel registry. Turns out we are both going trekking in 2 days so we decided to travel together. I taught him how to use my camera and we did some photography on the roof it was very pretty. KTM's flat rooftops would make this a perfect place for rooftop gardening! We met a trekking agent but I do not like him because he shook Pat's hand and not mine and kept speaking to him, also if he is like that who knows what his guides will be like toward women on the trail.

As we were walking to Thamel 2 young girls grabbed onto our legs and were begging for money, they wouldn't let go until a woman shooed them away by smacking them. Men here hold each other when they walk because it is a sign of friendship and strangers talk to each other like they are friends. I like the people here. Driving is an INSANE free for all with pedestrians thrown in the mix. Literally almost 20 people a second are about to get run over and on one notices it is like a choreographed dance. I guess they do not notice they were about to get killed because they are used to no lights, no stop signs, and no designated lanes.



Pat and I exchanged our money an I bought a -20 degree celcius sleeping bag for 4,500 rupees ($55). We decided to do the Manasalu/TSM valley because Annapurna is too touristy and lame. i feel like Pat is agitated because we did not go with his travel agent and plans are changing #wingingit!
BRO RELAX, Pat calculates everything to the tee and is so stressed about budgeting, which is good to some extent but not to the point where you can't be in this lovely moment and just relax. He also does not understand the "I will meet up with you later' (aka I want to explore the city alone) hint.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb