Destination 1 - Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 22nd 2018
Published: April 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Flags in the streets of KathmanduFlags in the streets of KathmanduFlags in the streets of Kathmandu

I love this photo, it was taken about 2 minutes in to my walk in Kathmandu
After what seemed like forever, I finally boarded my flight from Delhi to Kathmandu. This is a flight I have been dreading since I added Nepal to my itinerary, but, as far as flights go it was nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be. Yes, it was really quite bumpy on the descent into Kathmandu, but, I survived! I even dealt with having a window seat and took some pictures as well... for those who know me, you know how much of a big deal this is.

On arrival into Kathmandu, I was expecting the long queues to obtain a visa as I’d read up on it before I left, I just didn’t know quite how long. I’m pretty sure the queuing in the airport was longer than the flight from Delhi! So, for any future travellers out there if you fly into Kathmandu here’s a few tips for you: take a passport photo with you, upon arrival don’t go to the electronic screens to fill in the visa application, look for someone giving out paper forms hidden in a sea of people close to the screens - the only reason to use the electronic screens is
Lion on the entrance to a templeLion on the entrance to a templeLion on the entrance to a temple

A thing of beauty in a building site
if you haven’t taken a photo with you. When you’ve completed your form head down to the far wall (to the right of the screens as you’re looking at them) and pay your visa fee - best in USD and varies depending on your length of stay. When you’ve obtained your receipt for payment, then proceed to the foreigners without visa queue for the relevant number of days required on your visa e.g. 15, 30 etc.

When you’ve collected your luggage, don’t let anyone help you carry it. As we all know, nothing in this world comes for free and this is no exception. A firm, no, I don’t need any help seems to do the trick.

I had a transfer from the airport to my first hotel arranged, I met the driver and he drove me to my first hotel... Hotel Moonlight. The journey from the airport was bonkers at best, the roads here are absolutely crazy, my driver was an expert at weaving through any tiny gap he could find and at one point, I looked up to see we were on the wrong side of the road with 4 lanes (should have been 1 or
Giant prayer wheelGiant prayer wheelGiant prayer wheel

Giant prayer wheel
maybe 2 at most) of traffic heading towards us! A quick manoeuvre by the driver and we were back into the maze of little streets.

There are so many tiny, compact streets to navigate, each one looking the same as the last, filled with shops seling so many colourful fabrics, jewellery, ornaments etc. etc. And locals buzzing around everywhere. I had no idea the hotel was even there, tucked away in one of the small streets, it’s a little bit of calm in a bonkers world!

I walked in to find the tour group I would be joining for the next 2 weeks in the reception area about to head out on a heritage walk of the city. They had all arrived in the last few days and I was the last one... late as per! I ditched my bag, grabbed my camera and headed straight out of the door to join them in a 2 hour walk about.

I‘ve found in the past that a walking tour is a great way to get your bearings and find things you might want to go and investigate further. We set off in to the dusty streets and alley ways and it was like sensory overload! It was so hot, dusty, noisy and the different smells from insense, food and I don’t even know what else!

We were taken around and shown a few stupas, temples and prayer wheels and Durbar Square, some dating back to the 1600’s some more recent. All at one time or another would’ve looked stunning, but, could mostly do with a bit of TLC. Some damaged from the big earthquake here in 2015 and not yet repaired which is a real shame. Our guide was keen to explain that Nepal is a country with different religions and everyone just lives alongside each other with little problem - nice when you consider problems this causes in other parts of the world.

We visited a bhuddist temple and had a look inside, there was a giant prayer wheel which filled an entire room, it was completely stunning with vivid colours and very ornate. We also went to the local shopping area where there was a huge section which just sold beads, these beads traditionally were worn by married women to indicate they weren’t single. All were brightly coloured and I was lucky to witness
Cables, cables everywhereCables, cables everywhereCables, cables everywhere

Good luck finding the one you need!
a man making them, with the strip of beads attached to his big toe! he patiently sat there adding more and more, there were literally thousands of them in the surrounding shops.

something I noticed pretty quickly after arrival is the cabling in the streets, on most junctions there will be a post covered in cables coming from all directions and they’re everywhere, it looks crazy and I pity the poor guy who has to find a fault in all that!

After a 2 hour taster of what Kathmandu has to offer, we took the walk back to the hotel down the busy streets, dodging cars, bikes, mopeds, locals trying to sell their crafts and a kid selling balloons who seemed to keep appearing! I have to say I’m looking forward to the next few days.

On Return to the hotel, I provided the necessary to our guide for the permit into Tibet, this will take a couple of days to process and then I’ll spend most of the next 2 weeks there. A meal with the group, a much needed beer and a shower before bed finished the evening.

I’m going on a spiritualist tour tomorrow afternoon but not before a little lie in and a morning at leisure to sort out some currency and brave Kathmandu on my own for a couple of hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TempleTemple
Temple

There’s the kid with the balloons again!


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb