The Murphy's in KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
August 1st 2014
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 3.12433, 101.684

What a lovely surprise, my Aunt Lucy, Mary, Megan and Catherine were due to arrive in Kuala Lumpur on their way back from Australia after visiting family there. As I was in Malaysia at the time I had no hesitation to jump a bus down to see them for a couple of days, it would be the first family I've seen in 3 years!

It's funny, people don't change a bit, it was like seeing them only yesterday and I couldn't wait to catch up on the family gossip (well there is a few of us you know)!

I arrived on the overnight bus from Kuala Perlis in the north of Malaysia and thankfully managed to sleep most of the night, I checked into a Backpackers when I arrived and grabbed a shower and breakfast before heading off to meet them which was only a short walk away. I know KL to some degree after visiting a few times now, staying with friends and in Backpackers, plus cycling through it.

I was delighted to see them, it was cuddles all round then the kettle was on for a wee cuppa tea and a catch up before discussing a couple of days activities/sight
seeing they had their eyes on, which didn't disappoint. As we were five people it was easier to use the trains which provide a fantastic service around KL and all the main places we wanted to see however, on the odd occasion we did manage to get a cab for the five of us which was great.

First stop was the Islamic Arts Museum Malaysia which is a fascinating place, 3-4 floors high full of artefact's, jewelery, tiles, pots, textile, glassware, armor etc. Ancient copies of the Quran and manuscripts, plus paintings, displays and incredible architecture inside. We happily wander around taking it all in and reading as much information that will actually sink in! It's well laid out and incredibly interesting and is a great first start to the day.

Beside the Museum is the TV Al-Hijrah building and across the road is the National Mosque with it's roof like an upside down umbrella and the minaret which stands over 70m tall. We have a look around the mosque, fountains and gardens, but my favorite feature is the display of clocks on the wall with one large clock and a line of 7 more beside.

Next stop for Megan, Catherine and I is Stonehenge, I missed this the first time I was here but it's a miniture example which is fun. Aunt Lucy and Mary headed onto the Kuala Lumpur Bird Park and we met them there. The Bird Park is an enclosed aviary which holds around 3000 birds with 200 different species which is incredible, I've never seen many of the birds but instead of explaining it all here, have a look at some of the photographs. We had fun wandering around, learning about all sorts of species and I definitely have a few favorites by the time I leave. It was quite a tiring walk in the heat so regular stop/stare/rest sessions were involved in this one.

We headed down to Chinatown next for a look about the markets and to get some dinner, I love the Chinatown area which is where I normally stay in KL. The girls were buying some souvenirs and I was trying to teach them my bargaining skills which was fun, and we managed to pick up a few bargains, 'good price madam, very very cheap'...yep but not cheap until you're almost at half their asking price.

So after an eventful first day and picking up a few bargains, we had dinner in the Chinatown market area, interacting with the locals and people watching while we chatted about our day. It was fantastic sharing family time again, I really do miss that so, a final cocktail or two was had at the Reggae Bar where I'm staying, and finally said our good nights for the day.

Next morning we ventured out to Batu Caves by train, it's an interesting trip through KL and gives you a bit more of an insight of the city. Batu Caves are set in a limestone rock with caves running through it, it's a Hindu shrine dedicated to Lord Murugan who's impressive 140ft statue stands directly outside the caves and is the tallest statue of him outside India. 100m of steep steps takes you up to the main temple complex, with monkeys running around you snatching food (or bags/cameras etc.) you need to be a bit careful of them. As I've been before I didn't go up with Mary, Megan and Catherine and instead kept Aunt Lucy company and went for some fresh juice and a look around the complex instead.

The Ramayana Cave was an easier walk for Aunt Lucy and gives the story of Rama in colorful statues lit inside the cave. A steep staircase 400ft up takes you to the main temple and shrine which the girls and I walked up to leaving Aunt Lucy for a look around, the climb gives you an interesting perspective of the limestone interior structure which is all lit up, and the 113 year old temple at the top. Hanuman a Hindu God who was a devotee of Rama is depicted in an impressive 50ft brightly decorated statue outside and we enjoyed taking a few selfies before heading on after an interesting visit, our next stop Sunway Lagoon as the girls want to go to the water park and rides, and probably to cool off!

Now I didn't realise what I was letting myself in for... Aunt Lucy and Mary went shopping around the Sunway Pyramid which is a huge mall while I went off to play with Megan and Catherine. Although many slips and slides, pools, fountains etc. the main attraction is the Vuvuzela, the World's Largest Water Ride, this thing was huge! I was watching it before we went and listening to the screams of people coming through it and I have
to admit I was the only one screaming when I was in it with the girls... oh to be young and fearless again!

Six of us were put in a round raft and shot down the chute into a huge swirling cone which sent up flying up and down the sides before eventually shooting us down the rest of the way. The girls were laughing their heads of at me screaming but I swear it was completely involuntary! At the end of it we had photos taken by the staff and I had to laugh, I'm there in my bikini and the lady next to me is in a full length burkini which the two of us found hilarious... different cultures meeting yet experiencing the same fun, I love it. After our fun we met Aunt Lucy and Mary who were also laughing at my antics screaming down the chute and loved the picture we bought, definitely East meets West!

So the trip wasn't over until a visit to the famous Petronas Twin Towers which is a fantastic finale to their stay in KL, unfortunately they head home next day which means I'll go back up to the boat in Langkawi.


On
arrival at the Petronas Towers we stared impressively up at the architecture in front of us, it always takes my breath away looking up at them. These are still the tallest 'twin' towers in the world however they no longer hold the record for the tallest building which they held between 1998-2004. We walked up to the main fountains and managed to get some good pictures which isn't an easy task due to the scale involved but as I've been a few times before, I know some good spots to fit everyone into the foreground.

We then took a walk through Suria KLCC mall which is the shopping mall under the towers and checked out all the high street and designer stores before going towards the park for dinner. We were glad of the rest after our day and managed to eat before the evening light show which started in the fountains and wading pools behind.


This is a beautiful display of dancing colorful swirling/spouting water, which dances to the magical music being played and can be quite overwhelming when you look around. We enjoyed the entertainment while chatting and taking pictures and I love the selfie we took
with the lights/fountains in the background before the end.

So I bid them farewell, safe travels and thank Mary for contacting me when they were coming to Malaysia, it really was a magical few days and great fun with the family. Ah that family motto springs to mind again...

"Life is what you make it, and we sure make it good".

Farewell Murphy's, give all the family at home my love xxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb